Brushless impact drivers vary most in control, kit value, and battery-platform fit—not simply power. My best overall pick is the DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Impact Driver, whose multiple speed settings offer more control across different fasteners. The Milwaukee M18 FUEL stands out as the premium bare-tool choice, while the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Kit offers a compact kit option. The tradeoff is deciding whether you want a tool only, a complete starter kit, or a combo that adds a drill. Read on for all 15 picks and guidance on matching one to your work.
Get tools and workshop supplies delivered free — and shop member deals
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Access to Prime Big Deal Days deals on October 6–7
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The DEWALT DCF845B leads for control: its three-speed design gives it a broader fastening range than simpler single-speed options.
- Kit contents change the value equation: several picks include a battery and charger, while models such as the DCF845B and Milwaukee M18 FUEL are tool-only.
- Combo kits suit new platform buyers: DEWALT and Greenworks bundles pair an impact driver with a drill, avoiding a separate drill purchase.
- Compact and premium are different priorities: compact models favor access and handling, while the Milwaukee M18 FUEL is the lineup’s premium bare-tool alternative.
- Check the exact model and platform: the list includes multiple similar DEWALT, Milwaukee, and CRAFTSMAN drivers, plus two GoYwato kits; compare included batteries and tool features rather than brand name alone.
| brushless impact driver | Voltage | Model | Motor | Maximum torque |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Milwaukee M18 18V Brushless Co | 18 V | 3650-20 | Brushless | 1,700 in-lb |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Com | 20 V | CMCF811D1 | Brushless | 1,000 in-lb |
| Brushless Cordless Drill and I | 16.8 V | — | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3- | — | DCF845B | Brushless | 1,825 in-lb |
| DeWalt DCF787 20V MAX Brushles | — | DCF787 | Brushless | — |
| Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill | 24V | — | Brushless | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact | 20V MAX | DCF787D1 | Brushless | 1,500 in-lbs |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 20V MAX Cordless | 20V | CMCF800C1 | — | 1,460 in-lbs |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20V MAX | DCK240C2 | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20V | DCK277D2 | — | 1,500 in-lbs |
| Milwaukee M18 18V Compact Brus | 18 V | 3650-21P | Brushless | 1,700 in-lbs |
| Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4-Inch He | 18 V | 2953-20 | Not specified in the supplied product data | 2,000 in-lbs |
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless | 21 V | — | Brushless | 2,655 in-lb (300 N·m) |
| Milwaukee M18 Brushless 1/4-In | 18 V | 2850-21P | Brushless | 1,600 in-lbs |
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless | 21 V | — | Brushless | 2,655 in-lb (300 N·m) |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Milwaukee M18 18V Brushless Compact 1/4-Inch Impact Driver, Tool Only
I’d choose this Milwaukee when compact access and compatibility with an existing M18 battery collection matter more than getting a complete kit. Its brushless motor, variable-speed trigger, and all-metal gearcase make it a well-rounded option for common fastening tasks, while the listed 1,700 in-lb torque puts it above the CRAFTSMAN CMCF811D1’s 1,000 in-lb rating on paper. The tradeoff is that Milwaukee supplies no battery or charger, so buyers new to the platform need to account for both. I’d also treat the listed 3,600 rpm cautiously: the source data flags inconsistent speed specifications. Compared with the DEWALT DCF845B, this pick emphasizes compact reach and M18 platform fit rather than multiple speed settings and a three-LED work light.
Pros:- Compact design helps reach tight work areas
- Brushless motor supports efficient cordless operation
- Variable-speed trigger offers control while fastening
- All-metal gearcase and gears are built for regular jobsite use
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Listed speed specifications are inconsistent
- No stated speed-selection modes like the DEWALT DCF845B
Best for: Milwaukee M18 owners who need a compact brushless driver for routine fastening in restricted spaces.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a battery and charger included, or shoppers who want clearly consistent speed specifications.
- Model:3650-20
- Power source:Battery powered
- Voltage:18 V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:1,700 in-lb
- Maximum speed:3,600 rpm (listed; source data flags inconsistencies)
- Chuck:1/4 in. hex
- Included:Tool only; battery not included
Our verdict“Choose this Milwaukee if you already own M18 batteries and want a compact driver with a metal gearcase, but skip it if you need a ready-to-use kit.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit (CMCF811D1)
This CRAFTSMAN is the practical pick for buyers who want a compact brushless driver in a complete starter kit. Its 5.02-inch head is designed for tight spaces, and the included 2.0Ah battery and charger mean you can start working without sourcing the essentials separately. That makes it more convenient out of the box than the Milwaukee M18 3650-20 and DEWALT DCF845B, both listed as tool-only. The compromise is 1,000 in-lb of maximum torque, lower than the Milwaukee’s listed 1,700 in-lb and the DEWALT DCF845B’s 1,825 in-lb. Its LED helps with visibility, while VERSATRACK compatibility can aid storage if you already use that system; clips and accessories cost extra. I’d favor it for lighter fastening and access, not the most demanding driving jobs.
Pros:- Includes a 2.0Ah battery and charger
- 5.02-inch tool head suits tight work areas
- Brushless motor and onboard LED support everyday fastening
- VERSATRACK compatibility offers a storage option
Cons:- Listed 1,000 in-lb torque is below the Milwaukee M18 3650-20 and DEWALT DCF845B
- VERSATRACK clips and accessories are sold separately
- The included battery has a 2.0Ah capacity
Best for: DIYers and home renovators who want a compact brushless driver with its battery and charger included.
Not ideal for: Users regularly driving large fasteners or seeking higher listed torque, or buyers who do not need a starter battery kit.
- Model:CMCF811D1
- Voltage:20 V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:1,000 in-lb
- Tool head length:5.02 in.
- Weight:3.8 lb
- Battery included:2.0Ah lithium-ion
- Included components:CMCB101 charger, CMCB202 battery, CMCF811 impact driver
Our verdict“Pick this CRAFTSMAN for a compact, ready-to-use V20 kit and skip it if your fastening work calls for the higher listed torque of the Milwaukee or DEWALT.”
Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit
I’d put this set on the shortlist when the buyer needs a drill and impact driver together, rather than another standalone driver. It includes two brushless tools, two 2Ah batteries, a fast charger, a case, and a 25-piece accessory set; each tool is listed at 2.1 lb, making the pair easier to carry for small projects. The impact driver’s 1,330 in-lb torque sits between the CRAFTSMAN CMCF811D1’s 1,000 in-lb and the Milwaukee M18 3650-20’s 1,700 in-lb, though their listed figures do not tell the whole story of real-world performance. Its 16.8V platform and 2Ah batteries are a more modest setup than the 18V and 20V options here, and the broad durability claims lack supporting detail. I’d choose it for a bundled tool setup, not for a proven platform ecosystem.
Pros:- Includes both a brushless drill and impact driver
- Two batteries, fast charger, case, and 25-piece bit set are supplied
- Each tool is listed at 2.1 lb
- Built-in LEDs support work in dim areas
Cons:- Both included batteries are 2Ah
- The 16.8V platform is lower-voltage than the Milwaukee 18V and DEWALT 20V options listed
- Durability and lifespan claims are not backed by specific supporting details
Best for: New DIYers furnishing a basic toolkit who need both a drill and an impact driver, plus batteries and accessories.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople seeking a well-documented platform, larger-capacity batteries, or a standalone driver with clearly established support.
- Voltage:16.8 V
- Motors:Brushless
- Impact driver maximum torque:1,330 in-lb
- Impact driver speed:1,700 / 2,400 / 3,300 rpm
- Drill torque:400 in-lb
- Batteries:Two 2Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Weight:2.1 lb per tool
- Included accessories:Fast charger, 25-piece bit set, storage case
Our verdict“Choose this set if you need two lightweight brushless tools and a bundle of accessories, but look elsewhere for a larger battery capacity or a better-documented platform.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver (DCF845B), Tool Only
The DEWALT DCF845B earns its place for buyers who want more control over demanding fastening, not just a compact driver with a trigger. Its three speed settings pair with a variable-speed trigger, letting users tailor operation to the task; the listed 1,825 in-lb torque also leads the other individual drivers here on paper. Compared with the Milwaukee M18 3650-20, it adds defined speed modes and a three-LED work light, while the Milwaukee lists a metal gearcase and a slightly higher maximum speed figure. The DCF845B is still a tool-only purchase, so a 20V MAX battery and charger are separate. Its stated 3,400 RPM is below Milwaukee’s listed 3,600 rpm, though the Milwaukee source data flags speed inconsistencies. I’d favor this DEWALT for controlled, high-demand work over the simpler DCF787.
Pros:- Highest listed torque among these individual drivers at 1,825 in-lb
- Three speed settings and variable-speed trigger support task-specific control
- Integrated three-LED work light illuminates the work area
- Compact stated dimensions and 1 kg listed weight
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- TOOL CONNECT chip is sold separately
- Maximum listed speed is lower than the Milwaukee M18 3650-20 figure
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who drive a mix of fasteners and want selectable speed settings, high listed torque, and built-in work lighting.
Not ideal for: Buyers without DEWALT batteries, or those who want a complete kit or the simplest low-cost way into impact driving.
- Model:DCF845B
- Power system:DEWALT 20V MAX battery platform
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:1,825 in-lb
- Maximum rotational speed:3,400 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Chuck:1/4 in.
- Work light:Integrated 3-LED
- Included:Impact driver tool only
Our verdict“Choose the DCF845B if you own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and value speed selection with high listed torque; skip it if you need a complete kit.”
DeWalt DCF787 20V MAX Brushless 1/4-Inch Hex Impact Driver
The DCF787 suits buyers who want a straightforward compact brushless driver in DEWALT’s 20V MAX battery system. Its quick-change 1/4-inch hex chuck speeds up bit swaps, and the LED stays on for 20 seconds after the trigger is released, giving users extra light to check a fastener or reposition. Compared with the DCF845B, it offers a simpler feature set: the newer 3-speed model lists torque and speed figures, three control settings, and a three-LED work light, while this product data provides no torque or speed ratings. That missing performance detail makes it harder to match the DCF787 to heavy fastening demands. It also depends on a compatible battery, with no battery or charger specified in the supplied product information. I’d favor it for basic fastening and familiar platform fit, not for buyers who need quantified output or adjustable speed modes.
Pros:- Brushless motor
- Compact, lightweight design for access in confined areas
- Quick-change 1/4-inch hex chuck supports fast bit changes
- LED light remains on for 20 seconds after trigger release
Cons:- The provided specifications do not state torque or speed
- Battery and charger are not confirmed as included
- Lacks the three speed settings and three-LED light listed for the DCF845B
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners seeking a compact, uncomplicated impact driver for routine household or workshop fastening.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need stated torque and speed figures, multiple speed settings, or a battery and charger confirmed in the package.
- Model:DCF787
- Power system:DEWALT 20V MAX lithium-ion
- Motor:Brushless
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex, quick-change
- Lighting:Integrated LED with 20-second delay
- Design:Compact and lightweight
Our verdict“Choose the DCF787 for basic fastening if you already use DEWALT 20V MAX batteries, but choose the DCF845B when you need stated output and speed controls.”
Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah USB-C Batteries and 65W Charger
For buyers who want a brushless impact driver and a matching drill, this Greenworks set offers a more fully equipped starting point than the single-driver DEWALT DCF787D1 kit. The impact driver is rated at 1,950 in-lbs of torque, while the included drill adds a 1/2-inch chuck and two-speed control for work that calls for drilling rather than driving. Its two 2.0Ah batteries can also act as USB-C power banks, and the three-port charger gives the kit more charging flexibility than a basic charger setup. The tradeoff is that 2.0Ah packs favor a lighter kit over long stretches of demanding work; buyers focused only on a compact impact driver may not need the extra tool or accessories. The listed 4.7 lb weight also does not clarify whether the batteries are included.
Pros:- Includes both a brushless impact driver and a two-speed drill/driver
- Impact driver is rated at 1,950 in-lbs of torque
- Two batteries double as USB-C power banks
- Three-port charger, accessories, and carrying case are included
Cons:- The two included 2.0Ah batteries may need frequent charging during heavy work
- The listed 4.7 lb weight does not say whether it includes batteries
- The extra drill and charging features add kit bulk for buyers who only need an impact driver
Best for: Greenworks 24V owners and DIYers who want a brushless impact driver, a drill, and batteries that can also charge USB-C devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a single compact driver with long runtime between charges, or who want a clearly stated tool weight with batteries installed.
- Voltage:24V
- Motor:Brushless
- Impact driver torque:1,950 in-lbs
- Impact driver speed:3,400 RPM
- Drill chuck:1/2-inch keyless
- Batteries:Two 2.0Ah USB-C batteries
- Charger:65W USB-C, three-port
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this Greenworks kit if you want a brushless driver-and-drill set with USB-C battery utility, but skip it if your priority is a single lightweight impact driver.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)
The DCF787D1 makes sense for buyers who want a brushless impact driver without a second tool taking up space. Its 1,500 in-lbs of listed torque and 2,800 rpm speed suit routine fastening, while the compact design is aimed at reaching confined work areas. Unlike the Greenworks combo, this kit keeps the purchase focused on driving and includes a battery, charger, and belt hook. That simpler setup is also its limit: there is no drill/driver for making holes, and its included 2Ah battery may not stretch far through sustained high-demand work. The listed 4.3-pound weight is worth checking against your comfort needs, especially compared with the 2.8-pound impact-driver weight listed for the older DEWALT DCK240C2 combo. The LED’s 20-second delay helps keep the work area visible after releasing the trigger.
Pros:- Brushless motor is designed for runtime and durability
- Compact format suits confined fastening work
- Includes a 2Ah battery, charger, and belt hook
- LED stays on for 20 seconds after trigger release
Cons:- The 2Ah battery may limit runtime during demanding jobs
- Listed 4.3-pound weight is heavier than the DCK240C2 impact driver’s listed 2.8 pounds
- Does not include a drill/driver
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners or occasional DIYers who want a brushless driver kit for fastening in tight work areas.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a drill in the same kit, longer runtime for continuous work, or the lightest listed impact-driver option.
- Model:DCF787D1
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:1,500 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:2,800 rpm
- Chuck:1/4-inch
- Included battery:2Ah lithium-ion
- Included components:Charger and belt hook
Our verdict“Pick the DCF787D1 for a brushless DEWALT driver kit that stays focused on fastening, not for an all-in-one drilling and driving setup.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 20V MAX Cordless 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit (CMCF800C1)
The CMCF800C1 stands out for buyers who value quick, one-handed bit changes and a straightforward driver kit. Its quick-release 1/4-inch chuck helps when a job alternates between bits, and the listed 1,460 in-lbs of torque gives it a useful fastening range. Compared with the brushless DEWALT DCF787D1, this CRAFTSMAN kit lists a higher maximum rotational speed at 3,800 rpm, but the product data does not identify its motor as brushless. That makes it a less direct fit for a roundup centered on brushless impact drivers, especially for shoppers prioritizing brushless motor design. Its single-speed setup and small 1.3Ah battery also make it less suited to sustained work than the Greenworks combo with two 2.0Ah packs. The included light, battery, and charger keep it practical for basic tasks.
Pros:- Quick-release chuck supports one-handed bit changes
- Listed 1,460 in-lbs of torque for driving larger fasteners
- LED work light helps in dim areas
- Battery and charger are included
Cons:- Product data does not specify a brushless motor
- The 1.3Ah battery may limit runtime
- Single-speed design offers less speed flexibility than the Greenworks drill’s two-speed transmission
Best for: DIYers who frequently swap bits and want a simple V20 impact-driver kit for intermittent fastening tasks.
Not ideal for: Buyers specifically seeking a confirmed brushless motor or longer runtime for extended fastening sessions.
- Model:CMCF800C1
- Voltage:20V
- Chuck:1/4-inch quick-release
- Maximum torque:1,460 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,800 rpm
- Impact rate:3,100 ipm
- Battery:1.3Ah lithium-ion
- Included components:Battery and charger
Our verdict“Choose this CRAFTSMAN kit for convenient bit changes and occasional fastening, but look elsewhere if a confirmed brushless motor is a requirement.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries, Charger, and Bag (DCK240C2)
The DCK240C2 earns its place for buyers who need both drilling and impact driving in a compact pair. Its DCF885 impact driver is listed at just 5.55 inches long and 2.8 pounds, making it more appealing for tight access than the Greenworks kit, whose stated 4.7-pound weight does not clarify what is included. Two batteries, a charger, and a contractor bag make this a ready-to-carry setup. The tradeoff is that the included 1.3Ah batteries have less capacity than the 2.0Ah packs in the DCK277D2, so frequent or demanding work may call for more charging. The product data also does not specify brushless motors, which matters in a roundup focused on brushless drivers. I would favor a confirmed brushless kit if motor type is a firm requirement.
Pros:- Includes a drill/driver and an impact driver
- Impact driver is listed at 5.55 inches long and 2.8 pounds
- Two batteries, charger, and contractor bag are included
- Both tools have LED lights with a 20-second delay
Cons:- The included batteries are 1.3Ah each
- Product data does not specify that either motor is brushless
- The drill/driver’s listed 3.6-pound weight may feel heavy during extended use
Best for: DIYers and repair workers who want compact drill-and-driver tools for work in confined spaces and value a complete carry kit.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require a confirmed brushless impact driver or need higher-capacity included batteries for extended jobs.
- Model:DCK240C2
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Included tools:DCD771 drill/driver and DCF885 impact driver
- Batteries:Two 1.3Ah lithium-ion
- Impact driver length:5.55 inches
- Impact driver weight:2.8 lbs
- Drill/driver length:7.5 inches
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DCK240C2 for compact two-tool coverage and a carry bag, but skip it if brushless motor confirmation or longer-running batteries matter most.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK277D2)
The DCK277D2 is a practical choice for buyers who want a DEWALT drill and impact driver with two 2.0Ah batteries. Those packs offer more capacity than the 1.3Ah batteries in the DCK240C2, which can mean fewer interruptions for routine home projects. The kit pairs a 1/2-inch DCD777 drill with a 1/4-inch DCF787 impact driver, plus a charger and contractor bag. Variable-speed control helps tailor trigger input, and the LED supports work in dim or confined areas. Its main drawback for this roundup is that the supplied product details do not confirm the tools are brushless, unlike the clearly identified Greenworks brushless combo. The 2.0Ah batteries are still modest for long, demanding sessions, and no tool weight is provided for buyers comparing handling.
Pros:- Includes a 1/2-inch drill/driver and 1/4-inch impact driver
- Two 2.0Ah batteries offer more capacity than the DCK240C2’s 1.3Ah packs
- Variable-speed control supports more deliberate fastening
- Charger and contractor bag are included
Cons:- Product data does not specify whether the motors are brushless
- The 2.0Ah batteries may require breaks for charging during heavy use
- Tool weights are not provided
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who want a drill-and-driver kit with two 2.0Ah batteries for household repairs and regular DIY work.
Not ideal for: Buyers who require confirmed brushless motors, need larger-capacity batteries for sustained work, or want listed tool weights before choosing.
- Model:DCK277D2
- Voltage:20V
- Drill/driver:DCD777, 1/2-inch
- Impact driver:DCF787, 1/4-inch
- Batteries:Two 2.0Ah lithium-ion
- Maximum torque:1,500 in-lbs
- Maximum rotational speed:2,800 rpm
- Included components:Charger and contractor bag
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DCK277D2 for a DEWALT two-tool kit with 2.0Ah batteries, but favor the Greenworks combo if confirmed brushless motors are your priority.”
Milwaukee M18 18V Compact Brushless Cordless 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit
At 4.4 inches long, this Milwaukee is the shortest option in this group, making it a practical pick for fastening between studs, inside cabinets, or in other cramped spots. Its 1,700 in-lbs of torque and 3,600 RPM give it more speed and driving force than the Milwaukee 2850-21P kit, though the M18 FUEL 2953-20 offers higher output and four drive modes for more controlled work. This kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery, charger, and contractor bag, so it is ready to work without piecing together a starter setup. The tradeoff is limited battery capacity compared with the GoYwato kits’ two 4.0 Ah batteries, and the listed 5.7 lb weight could feel tiring during long overhead sessions. It suits M18 buyers who put reach ahead of extended runtime.
Pros:- 4.4-inch tool length helps reach into confined work areas
- Brushless motor delivers up to 1,700 in-lbs of torque
- 3,600 RPM is faster than the Milwaukee 2850-21P kit’s listed 3,200 RPM
- Includes a 2.0 Ah battery, multivoltage charger, and contractor bag
Cons:- Only one 2.0 Ah battery is included
- Listed 5.7 lb weight may be tiring for extended overhead use
Best for: Milwaukee M18 owners who need a short tool for cabinet installation, framing details, and other tight-access fastening
Not ideal for: Tradespeople driving fasteners continuously through a long shift who would benefit from a larger-capacity battery or a lighter-feeling setup
- Model:3650-21P
- Motor:Brushless
- Voltage:18 V
- Maximum torque:1,700 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,600 RPM
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Battery:One 2.0 Ah lithium-ion battery
- Length:4.4 inches
- Included:Battery, multivoltage charger, contractor bag
Our verdict“Choose this kit if a particularly short body and included M18 essentials matter more than a second battery or the FUEL model’s extra control modes.”
Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4-Inch Hex Impact Driver
The M18 FUEL 2953-20 is the strongest fit here for buyers who want both high driving output and adjustable control. Its 2,000 in-lbs of torque and 3,900 RPM exceed the Milwaukee 3650-21P kit’s listed figures, while four drive modes, a responsive trigger, and tri-LED lighting give more help with delicate fasteners and dim work areas. That makes it a more versatile jobsite tool than the simpler Milwaukee 2850-21P, whose data lists a single speed setting. The main compromise is the buying package: battery inclusion is not specified, so this may mean extra planning for anyone new to M18. The listed drilling capacity is only 0.25 inches, a narrow figure that does not add much guidance for broader drilling tasks. I’d favor it for M18 users who can supply a battery and want mode selection over an all-in-one kit.
Pros:- 2,000 in-lbs of torque and 3,900 RPM lead the listed Milwaukee figures in this batch
- Four drive modes adapt output to different fastening tasks
- Responsive trigger helps moderate power on smaller fasteners
- Tri-LED lighting improves visibility around the fastener
Cons:- Battery inclusion is not specified
- Listed drilling capacity of 0.25 inches offers limited guidance for drilling needs
Best for: M18 battery owners who regularly switch between heavy fastening and smaller screws, and want multiple modes plus strong work lighting
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a clearly specified battery and charger in the box
- Model:2953-20
- Motor:Not specified in the supplied product data
- Voltage:18 V
- Maximum torque:2,000 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,900 RPM
- Drive modes:4
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Weight:998 g
- Lighting:Tri-LED
Our verdict“Pick the M18 FUEL if you already have compatible batteries and want the strongest combination of output, drive modes, and lighting among these Milwaukee options.”
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, Red
GoYwato’s red kit is aimed at buyers who want a broad set of accessories in one package: it includes two 4.0 Ah batteries, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, a charger, and a case. That is a more generous battery-and-accessory bundle than the Milwaukee 3650-21P, which supplies one 2.0 Ah battery and a bag. The stated 2,655 in-lb torque is also higher than the listed figures for the Milwaukee drivers here, but its 1,400 RPM maximum is much lower than their 3,200–3,900 RPM range. The data lists one speed, despite describing low- and high-speed forward modes, so buyers should not assume its control setup is as clearly defined as the four-mode M18 FUEL. Choose this kit for included batteries and bits; skip it if high rotational speed or clearly documented operating modes are priorities.
Pros:- Two 4.0 Ah batteries are included
- Supplied with 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, a charger, and a carrying case
- Manufacturer lists up to 2,655 in-lb of torque
- Built-in LED and reverse braking support visibility and fastener control
Cons:- Listed maximum speed of 1,400 RPM is substantially below the Milwaukee options’ figures
- Specs list one speed even though the description mentions low- and high-speed forward modes
- Battery runtime is not provided
Best for: DIYers and occasional repair users who want batteries, sockets, bits, and a case supplied together
Not ideal for: Frequent users who need high RPM or want well-documented speed settings and battery runtime
- Voltage:21 V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb (300 N·m)
- Maximum speed:1,400 RPM
- Speeds listed:1 in specs; description also mentions low- and high-speed forward modes
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Batteries:Two 4.0 Ah batteries
- Weight:3.62 lb
- Included accessories:Charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, carrying case, user manual
Our verdict“Choose this bundle for its two batteries and included accessories, but favor a Milwaukee option if higher listed RPM and clearer mode specifications matter more.”
Milwaukee M18 Brushless 1/4-Inch Cordless Hex Impact Driver Kit, 2.0 Ah
This kit keeps the setup simple: it pairs an M18 brushless driver with a 2.0 Ah battery, multivoltage charger, and tool bag. Its 1,600 in-lbs of torque and 3,200 RPM are more modest than the Milwaukee 3650-21P’s 1,700 in-lbs and 3,600 RPM, while the M18 FUEL 2953-20 adds more torque, speed, and four drive modes. In return, the 2850-21P is a straightforward choice for basic fastening rather than a feature-heavy tool. The listed 5.1-inch length is still compact enough for many confined spaces, and REDLINK overload protection is specified. Its main limits are the single included 2.0 Ah battery and single speed setting; buyers needing longer work between charges or finer speed selection should look at the GoYwato two-battery kits or the FUEL model.
Pros:- Includes a 2.0 Ah battery, multivoltage charger, and tool bag
- Brushless motor and REDLINK overload protection are specified
- 5.1-inch tool length suits many tight-access tasks
- Provides up to 1,600 in-lbs of torque and 3,200 RPM
Cons:- Only one 2.0 Ah battery is included
- Single speed setting offers less adjustment than the M18 FUEL’s four modes
- Lower listed torque and RPM than the Milwaukee 3650-21P
Best for: New M18 users who want a basic brushless impact driver with a battery, charger, and bag for household repairs or occasional installation work
Not ideal for: Users who drive fasteners all day, need multiple batteries, or want multiple drive modes for varied materials
- Model:2850-21P
- Motor:Brushless
- Voltage:18 V
- Maximum torque:1,600 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,200 RPM
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Battery:One 2.0 Ah lithium-ion battery
- Tool length:5.1 inches
- Included:Impact driver, battery, multivoltage charger, tool bag
Our verdict“This is a sensible entry to the M18 system for occasional fastening, but choose the 3650-21P or M18 FUEL if you need more speed or adjustable drive modes.”
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit
This GoYwato kit shares the red model’s listed 2,655 in-lb torque and 1,400 RPM maximum, but its specs call out two forward speeds rather than one. That distinction makes the yellow version the clearer pick for buyers seeking some speed adjustment, though the supplied data does not state separate RPM ranges. It also includes two 4.0 Ah batteries, a charger, sockets, bits, and a carrying case, giving it a fuller ready-to-work package than the Milwaukee 2850-21P kit’s single 2.0 Ah battery. The tradeoff is speed: 1,400 RPM remains well below the Milwaukee 3650-21P’s listed 3,600 RPM, which may matter when driving many fasteners quickly. Battery protection details and performance claims are manufacturer-provided, so I’d favor it for bundle value and battery capacity rather than established platform details or high-speed fastening.
Pros:- Two 4.0 Ah lithium-ion batteries are included
- Two forward speeds are specified
- Kit includes charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, and a carrying case
- Reverse auto-stop and built-in LED add control and visibility
Cons:- Listed maximum speed of 1,400 RPM is lower than the Milwaukee drivers’ listed speeds
- Separate RPM ranges for its two speeds are not provided
- Battery protection details and performance claims are manufacturer-provided
Best for: DIYers who want two included batteries, basic speed selection, and a supplied socket-and-bit assortment for varied home projects
Not ideal for: High-volume users who prioritize faster rotation, detailed battery protection information, or compatibility with an established tool battery platform
- Voltage:21 V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb (300 N·m)
- Maximum speed:1,400 RPM
- Speeds:2
- Chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Batteries:Two 4.0 Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Weight:3.62 lb
- Included accessories:Charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, carrying case, user manual
Our verdict“Choose this version over the red GoYwato kit if the specified two-speed setup matters, but look to Milwaukee for higher listed RPM and a defined M18 platform.”

How We Picked
I compared these brushless impact drivers by the factors that change daily use: speed and control options, compactness, battery-platform compatibility, kit contents, and whether a bundle adds a useful drill. The lineup includes bare tools, driver kits, and drill-and-driver combos, so I treated included batteries, chargers, and accessories as part of the buying decision rather than as minor extras. I also weighed how clearly each model’s configuration fits a buyer’s needs.
The ranking favors versatility and a clear role over headline claims alone. That puts the DEWALT DCF845B first for its three-speed control, followed by options that stand out for platform value, premium positioning, or starter-kit convenience. Similar models are separated by what their package adds and how well their stated features serve a distinct buyer; where the supplied product details do not establish a meaningful difference, I avoid claiming one. No product is a universal winner: tool-only models make more sense for existing battery owners, while kits and combos can be a better starting point.
| brushless impact driver | Motor |
|---|---|
| Milwaukee M18 18V Brushless Co | Brushless |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Com | Brushless |
| Brushless Cordless Drill and I | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3- | Brushless |
| DeWalt DCF787 20V MAX Brushles | Brushless |
| Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact | Brushless |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 20V MAX Cordless | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | — |
| Milwaukee M18 18V Compact Brus | Brushless |
| Milwaukee M18 FUEL 1/4-Inch He | Not specified in the supplied product data |
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless | Brushless |
| Milwaukee M18 Brushless 1/4-In | Brushless |
| GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless | Brushless |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Brushless Impact Drivers
Choosing among brushless impact drivers is easier when you start with the job and the batteries you already own. These broader checks can help you avoid paying for a bundle you will not use or choosing a driver with less control than your work needs.
Match the Battery Platform Before Comparing Kits
Start by checking which batteries you already own and which tools you might add later. A bare tool can make sense if it joins an established platform, but a new battery family may cost more in space and compatibility than the driver itself suggests. A kit is often the simpler entry point when you have no compatible batteries, since it supplies the basics for operation. Do not assume two tools with similar voltage labels share batteries; confirm the platform and model compatibility. Combo kits can be a practical way to start a platform if you also need a drill. If your existing batteries are from another brand, prioritize compatibility over small differences in advertised features.
Choose Control for the Fasteners You Actually Drive
Speed settings matter most when your jobs range from delicate screws to long structural fasteners. A multi-speed driver can make it easier to moderate output, while a simpler control setup may suit repetitive work where consistency matters more than range. Think about the materials and fastener sizes you use most often, not just the most demanding task you might face. Beginners can benefit from more control because it may help reduce overdriving, but settings do not replace careful technique. For finish-sensitive work, practice on scrap material before driving into the final surface. If you regularly switch between light and heavy fastening, prioritize adjustability over a bare-tool bundle with extras you do not need.
Decide Whether You Need a Driver Alone or a Combo
An impact driver is built for fastening, while a drill handles drilling tasks with a chuck designed for a wider range of bits. A driver-only kit is a leaner choice if you already have a drill or rarely make holes. A combo kit can cost you less effort and space than assembling two compatible tools separately, especially when setting up a home workshop. The common mistake is buying a combo for accessories or a second battery that will sit unused. Check whether the included drill fills a real gap in your toolkit and whether the bundle provides the batteries and charger you need. If you already have both tools, a standalone driver may be the more sensible addition.
Treat Compactness as a Work-Space Advantage
A shorter or more compact driver can help when fasteners sit inside cabinets, between framing members, or close to a wall. That advantage is less meaningful on open work surfaces, where grip, balance, and battery weight may matter more. Consider the tool with the battery attached, since the bare-tool shape does not show the full working footprint. Small kits can be attractive for portability, but check what battery capacity and charging equipment are included before making that trade. If you spend long stretches driving overhead, handling and balance may matter more than the smallest dimensions. Choose compactness to solve an access problem, not simply because compact sounds better.
Pay for Features That Change Your Work
Extra speed settings, additional batteries, or a second tool are useful only when they match your routine. Multi-speed control can support varied fastening, while a combo kit can fill two roles; neither automatically makes a driver the right purchase. A premium bare tool may be a sound choice for someone already committed to its battery platform, yet a first-time buyer could need to account for the separate battery and charger. Compare the complete package against the work you expect to do, including charging needs and storage. Avoid choosing by voltage or brushless labeling alone, since those details do not tell the full story of control or kit value. A simpler option can be the better fit when it covers your regular tasks without unused extras.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a bare impact driver or a kit with a battery and charger?
Choose a bare tool when you already own compatible batteries and a charger, since a duplicate set may add little practical value. If you are entering a platform for the first time, a kit can get you working with fewer separate purchases. Check the exact package contents rather than relying on the product name; some listings are tool-only even when similar models are sold as kits. Battery capacity and the number of batteries can affect how convenient a kit is for longer sessions. Compare the full bundle you need, not just the driver itself.
Is a three-speed impact driver worth choosing over a simpler model?
Multiple speed settings are most useful when you drive a mix of small, delicate, and larger fasteners. They give you more ways to moderate the tool, which can help reduce mistakes on materials that are easy to damage. For repetitive heavy fastening, a simpler driver may be sufficient if its control suits your routine. Settings do not replace a careful trigger finger or practice on scrap. In this lineup, the DEWALT DCF845B is the clearest choice for buyers who want speed options.
Should I choose a drill-and-driver combo instead of an impact driver kit?
A combo makes sense if you need both a drilling tool and a driver, or if you are building a cordless toolkit from scratch. A drill’s chuck accepts a broad range of drill bits, while the impact driver is intended primarily for fastening. If you already own a compatible drill, a driver kit avoids paying for another tool you may not use. Check how many batteries and which charging accessories the combo includes. Choose the package based on the jobs missing from your kit, not on the number of items in the box.
Can I buy one of these drivers if I already own batteries from another brand?
Usually, cordless batteries are tied to their own tool platform, so a battery from another brand may not fit or operate the driver. Verify compatibility with the manufacturer’s platform and the exact tool model before buying. Adapters may exist, but they can add fit, performance, or warranty complications and should not be assumed to work. If you have several batteries from one platform, staying within it can simplify charging and future tool purchases. If you are starting over, compare the complete kit and the range of tools you expect to need.
How do I choose between similar models from the same brand?
Compare the exact model number, control features, and package contents rather than relying on a shared brand or voltage label. In this roundup, several brands have more than one driver, and some appear both as a bare tool and as a kit. Look for the differences that affect your use: speed settings, compactness, included battery and charger, or a bundled drill. If the core tool details are similar, the package that fits your existing batteries and missing equipment may be the better buy. Confirm listing specifications before ordering, especially when model names are close.
Conclusion
For most buyers, I recommend the DEWALT DCF845B as the best overall choice for its three-speed control. The best premium pick is the Milwaukee M18 FUEL for buyers already invested in Milwaukee’s platform who want a standalone driver. For value, I would start with the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Kit if its included kit components suit your needs; compare the exact contents before choosing it over a bare tool. Beginners who need both drilling and fastening should look at the DEWALT or Greenworks combo kits, while someone who already owns compatible batteries may prefer a tool-only option. For tight workspaces, focus on the compact models; for a two-tool starter setup, choose a combo only if you will use the drill. The right pick depends less on the longest feature list than on matching control, platform, and package to your work.
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















