Cordless impact drivers have largely replaced drills as the go-to tool for driving long screws, lag bolts and deck fasteners, because their rotary hammer action delivers far more torque than a drill without twisting out of your hand. The DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed (DCF845P1) earns my best overall pick for its brushless motor, three-speed control, and complete kit with battery and charger — a combination no budget model here matches. For value hunters, the AVID POWER 20V Brushless kit brings brushless performance and a full accessory package at a fraction of the cost, while the RYOBI ONE+ PCL235B is the obvious choice for anyone already inside that huge battery ecosystem. The main tradeoffs you will face in this category are price versus runtime, bare-tool versus kit purchases, and single-speed simplicity versus multi-speed precision. Keep reading for the full breakdown of all 13 models.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- DEWALT dominates the lineup with five entries, and the DCF845P1 kit version edges out the bare-tool DCF845B for most buyers because the price gap to add battery and charger is smaller than buying them separately.
- Brushless motors appeared even at budget price points (AVID POWER, Zybaiiru, Robustrue), which means the real pay-more decision is battery capacity and speed settings — not motor type.
- Four of the 13 options are bare tools, which only makes sense if you already own compatible batteries; first-time buyers should stick to kits like the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C or CRAFTSMAN CMCF800C1.
- Combo kits (DCK240C2, DCK277D2, the 16.8V brushless set) cost less per tool than buying separately, but the drills inside them are often older or lower-spec designs than standalone models.
- Torque ratings clustered between roughly 1,375 and 2,200 in-lbs, and the difference mattered less in practice than control features — three-speed selection and precision modes did more for fastener control than raw power numbers.
| cordless impact driver | Voltage | Motor | Model |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robustrue 21V Brushless Cordle | 21V | Brushless | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | — | — | DCK240C2 |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONN | 20V MAX (18V nominal) | — | BDCI20C |
| RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 1/4-In | 18V | — | PCL235B |
| AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushl | 20V | Brushless | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Cord | 20V MAX | Brushless | DCF845P1 |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Impact | 20V MAX | Brushless | DCF787D1 |
| Zybaiiru 20V Brushless Cordles | 20V | Brushless | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20V MAX | Brushless | DCK277D2 |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Drive | 20V MAX XR | Brushless | DCF845B |
| Cordless Drill and Impact Driv | 16.8V | — | — |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 20V MAX Cordless | 20V MAX | — | — |
| GALAX PRO 20V Cordless Impact | 20V Max | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Robustrue 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Set
The Robustrue suits buyers who want more control over fastening force without stepping up to a larger tool. Its four speed levels and torque settings, from 110 to 230 N·m, let you ease into smaller screws and raise power for tougher fasteners. The reverse mode slows as fasteners loosen, which can help limit dropped hardware. Compared with the AVID POWER 20V Brushless Impact Driver, Robustrue offers more stated torque settings and includes two batteries and 20 bits; AVID POWER specifies two speed settings and a lighter kit weight. The tradeoff is that both included batteries are only 2.0 Ah, so sustained heavy fastening may mean more swaps. I’d choose this set for varied home projects, while buyers already invested in a major battery system may prefer a compatible bare tool.
Pros:- Four speed levels and four torque settings support a wider range of fastening tasks
- Brushless motor and up to 230 N·m of stated torque
- Includes two 2.0 Ah batteries, a fast charger, and 20 screwdriver bits
- Reverse mode slows as fasteners loosen
Cons:- Each included battery has a modest 2.0 Ah capacity for prolonged heavy work
- Its battery system may be less useful to buyers already invested in another tool platform
Best for: DIYers switching between delicate screws and tougher fastening jobs who want batteries and bits in the box
Not ideal for: People fastening continuously on large projects who need higher-capacity batteries or an established tool-platform battery
- Voltage:21V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:230 N·m (2,035 in-lbs)
- Maximum speed:3,300 RPM
- Maximum impact rate:4,000 IPM
- Torque settings:110, 150, 190, and 230 N·m
- Batteries:2 × 2.0 Ah lithium-ion
- Weight:2.15 lbs
Our verdict“Choose the Robustrue if adjustable fastening control and a ready-to-use accessory set matter more than long runtime between charges.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
This DEWALT kit earns its place by pairing an impact driver with a 1/2-inch drill/driver, so one purchase covers both fast driving and ordinary drilling. The impact driver is 5.55 inches long, and its one-handed bit loading is useful when working in cramped spaces or holding material in place. Unlike the single-purpose BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C, this set adds a drill for holes and standard drill bits; the BLACK+DECKER is lighter as a driver and comes as a simpler single-tool kit. The compromise is that the combo has less impact-driver detail in the supplied specs, including no stated torque or speed figures, and its two batteries are described as entry-level. I’d pick it for a new workshop needing two core tools, not for buyers focused only on high-demand impact fastening.
Pros:- Includes both a 1/4-inch impact driver and a 1/2-inch drill/driver
- Compact 5.55-inch impact driver can fit into tight work areas
- One-handed bit loading speeds impact-driver bit changes
- Includes two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag
Cons:- Batteries are described as entry-level, which may limit runtime on extended jobs
- The supplied product data gives no impact-driver torque or speed figures for comparison
- Two tools and a bag make this a larger kit to store than a driver-only option
Best for: New homeowners and DIYers who need both a compact drill and an impact driver for general repairs
Not ideal for: Fastening specialists who want published torque figures, multiple driver modes, or higher-capacity batteries
- Model:DCK240C2
- Battery platform:20V MAX
- Impact driver chuck:1/4 in. hex
- Impact driver length:5.55 in.
- Impact driver weight:2.8 lbs
- Drill/driver chuck:1/2 in. single-sleeve ratcheting
- Included:2 batteries, charger, and bag
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this combo if you need a drill and impact driver together for varied home projects and can accept basic battery capacity.”
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT 1/4 in. Cordless Impact Driver Kit (BDCI20C)
The BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C is a straightforward choice for buyers who already use POWERCONNECT batteries and want a compact impact driver for routine fastening. Its stated 1,375 in-lbs of torque and quick-release hex chuck cover common screw-driving work, while the soft-touch grip helps with repeated use. Against the RYOBI ONE+ PCL235B, this kit includes a battery and charger, whereas RYOBI’s listing is for the tool only and gives a higher torque figure of 1,800 in-lbs. BLACK+DECKER does provide a full speed figure and impact rate, but it has just one speed setting and a 1.5 Ah battery. That limits its appeal for demanding or prolonged jobs. I’d favor it as an accessible add-on for a POWERCONNECT household, not as the most adaptable driver in this group.
Pros:- Compatible with batteries in the POWERCONNECT tool family
- Kit includes a battery, charger, and screwdriving bit
- Quick-release 1/4-inch hex chuck supports fast bit changes
- Compact body and soft-touch grip suit routine fastening
Cons:- Single speed setting offers less adjustment than the Robustrue or AVID POWER
- Included 1.5 Ah battery may require frequent charging on heavy jobs
- Its stated torque is lower than the RYOBI ONE+ PCL235B
Best for: POWERCONNECT tool owners who want a compact, battery-included driver for household fastening
Not ideal for: Users who need multiple speed modes or expect long runtime during heavy fastening
- Model:BDCI20C
- Voltage:20V MAX (18V nominal)
- Maximum torque:1,375 in-lbs
- Maximum speed:3,000 RPM
- Impact rate:3,900 IPM
- Chuck:1/4 in. hex quick-release
- Battery:Lithium-ion, 1.5 Ah
- Speed settings:1, with variable-speed trigger
Our verdict“Choose the BDCI20C for routine jobs if you already own POWERCONNECT tools; skip it if you need speed choices or extended heavy-duty runtime.”
RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 1/4-Inch Impact Driver (PCL235B), Tool Only
For someone who already owns RYOBI ONE+ batteries, the PCL235B keeps the decision simple: it adds a driver rated at 1,800 in-lbs of torque to that existing system without bundling batteries they may not need. The stated torque exceeds the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C’s 1,375 in-lbs, but the supplied RYOBI details list only a maximum impact rate, not speed settings or RPM. That makes it harder to judge its control options against the Robustrue 21V, which specifies four speed levels and four torque settings. RYOBI’s main drawback is clear: no battery or charger is included. Its product data also offers fewer details for comparing performance. I’d choose it as a compatible addition to an established ONE+ kit, while first-time buyers should look at a complete kit instead.
Pros:- Compatible with the RYOBI ONE+ 18V system
- Stated maximum torque of 1,800 in-lbs
- 1/4-inch drive suits common impact-driver bits
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Product data does not specify RPM or selectable speed settings
- Fewer listed control details than the Robustrue 21V
Best for: RYOBI ONE+ owners who want an impact driver to use with batteries and a charger they already have
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a battery and charger, or shoppers who want detailed speed and control specifications
- Model:PCL235B
- Series:RYOBI ONE+
- Voltage:18V
- Tool type:Cordless impact driver
- Drive size:1/4 in.
- Maximum torque:1,800 in-lbs
- Maximum impact rate:3,400 IPM
- Battery included:No
Our verdict“Choose the PCL235B if you already have ONE+ batteries; otherwise, a complete kit is a more practical starting point.”
AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, 2,220 in-lbs
The AVID POWER stands out for combining a brushless motor, a stated 2,220 in-lbs of torque, and a listed weight of just 2.16 lbs. That balance makes it a plausible fit for overhead work and repeated fastening where a heavier tool can become tiring. Its two speeds and variable-speed trigger give more adjustment than the one-speed BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C, though less range than the Robustrue 21V with four speed levels and four torque settings. AVID POWER’s automatic brake stop can help when backing out nuts or bolts, but it operates only in reverse mode. The supplied data does not list battery capacity or included kit contents, so buyers have less information about runtime and readiness than they do for Robustrue. I’d shortlist it for lightweight fastening when those missing details are acceptable.
Pros:- Brushless motor with a stated maximum torque of 2,220 in-lbs
- Listed weight of 2.16 lbs suits overhead and repetitive tasks
- Two speed settings plus a variable-speed trigger
- Built-in LED and reverse-mode brake stop
Cons:- Only two speed settings, compared with the Robustrue’s four
- Automatic brake stop is specified for reverse mode only
- Supplied product data does not state battery capacity or kit contents
Best for: DIYers prioritizing a light brushless driver for overhead work and repeated fastening, with moderate speed adjustment
Not ideal for: Buyers who need clearly specified battery capacity, a detailed kit list, or finer torque adjustment
- Voltage:20V
- Motor:Brushless
- Chuck:1/4 in.
- Maximum torque:2,220 in-lbs
- Speed settings:2
- Speeds:1,900 RPM and 2,600 RPM
- Weight:2.16 lbs
- Lighting:Built-in LED
Our verdict“Choose AVID POWER if low listed weight and brushless power matter most, and verify the battery and kit details before buying.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Cordless Impact Driver Kit (DCF845P1)
This option stands out for buyers who want a complete, jobsite-ready package rather than a bare tool. With 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM, the DCF845P1 has the muscle for large-diameter structural screws and lag bolts that would stall a lighter-duty model like the CRAFTSMAN CMCF800C1. The three-speed switch matters more than it sounds: the lowest setting keeps smaller fasteners from being overdriven, while the top gear handles framing work. Compared with the tool-only DEWALT DCF845B, this kit includes the battery and charger, which makes it the smarter entry point for anyone not already invested in DEWALT batteries. The tradeoff is cost and the 1/4-inch chuck, which limits drilling flexibility, and the Tool Connect chip for tracking requires a separate purchase.
Pros:- Brushless motor delivers 1,825 in-lbs of torque for demanding fastening
- 3-speed switch plus variable trigger gives control on both delicate and heavy jobs
- Battery and charger included in the kit
- 3-LED work light brightens shadowed work areas
Cons:- Tool Connect tracking chip sold separately
- 1/4-inch chuck only, limiting use with larger drill bits
- Premium DEWALT pricing versus budget brands like AVID POWER
Best for: Tradespeople and serious DIYers building out a DEWALT 20V MAX kit from scratch who need high torque out of the box
Not ideal for: Buyers who already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries — the DCF845B tool-only version avoids paying twice for power
- Model:DCF845P1
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Max Torque:1,825 in-lbs
- Max Speed:3,400 RPM
- Speed Settings:3
- Chuck Size:1/4 inch
- Includes:Tool, battery, charger
Our verdict“This is the pick for pros who want maximum torque, precise speed control, and a complete kit in one purchase.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Impact Driver, 1/4 Inch, with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)
The DCF787D1 makes the most sense for work where reach and weight matter more than raw power. Its compact, lightweight build slides into cabinet interiors, stud bays, and under-sink spaces where the beefier DCF845P1 feels cumbersome. Compared with that higher-output sibling, this model trades peak torque for everyday drivability — enough for deck screws, cabinet hardware, and general fastening, just not sustained structural lag work. The LED with 20-second delay is genuinely useful when working inside dark cavities, staying lit after you release the trigger so you can check your work. The kit includes a battery, charger, and belt hook, which puts it ahead of bare-tool options like the Zybaiiru for first-time buyers. The single 2Ah battery is the main compromise; heavier sessions will mean downtime on the charger.
Pros:- Compact, lightweight design excels in tight and overhead work
- Brushless motor extends runtime and tool life
- Complete kit with battery, charger, and belt hook
- LED with 20-second delay after trigger release
Cons:- Only one 2Ah battery included, limiting long work sessions
- Less torque than the DCF845 line for heavy fastening
Best for: Remodelers, cabinet installers, and homeowners doing finish and repair work in cramped spaces
Not ideal for: Framers or deck builders who need sustained high torque and would drain the single 2Ah battery quickly
- Model:DCF787D1
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Chuck Size:1/4 inch
- Battery:DCB203 2Ah (included)
- Charger:DCB107 (included)
- Includes:Tool, battery, charger, belt hook
Our verdict“A compact complete-kit choice for buyers who prioritize maneuverability over maximum torque.”
Zybaiiru 20V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver, 1/4-Inch, Bare Tool
This model is better suited to buyers who already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and want a spare impact driver without paying brand-name prices. On paper its 2,655 in-lb torque rating actually exceeds the DCF845B’s output, which makes it an interesting budget backup for garage and renovation duty — though I’d treat third-party torque figures with some skepticism versus DEWALT’s independently repeatable numbers. The reverse stop function is a thoughtful touch, preventing loosened bolts from dropping into engine bays or wall cavities, something none of the DEWALT models here offer. The catch is real: no battery or charger in the box, and compatibility is limited to select DEWALT batteries, so verify your pack fits before committing. Compared with the Ryobi PCL235B bare tool, it undercuts on price but lacks that platform’s breadth.
Pros:- Strong rated torque for the price with a brushless motor
- Reverse stop function prevents dropped bolts and nuts
- Three-speed settings with variable trigger control
- Ring LED light surrounds the chuck for shadow-free visibility
Cons:- Battery and charger not included
- Works only with select DEWALT 20V MAX batteries
- Unproven brand support compared with established names
Best for: Budget-conscious DEWALT 20V MAX battery owners wanting a low-cost spare or backup impact driver
Not ideal for: Anyone starting from zero tools — buying batteries and a charger separately erases the savings versus the DCF787D1 kit
- Voltage:20V
- Motor:Brushless
- Max Torque:2,655 in-lb
- Max Speed:2,700 RPM
- Speed Settings:3
- Chuck Size:1/4 inch
- Battery Included:No (bare tool)
- Support:3 years
Our verdict“A cheap, capable spare driver for existing DEWALT battery owners — everyone else should buy a full kit instead.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK277D2)
For someone building a first serious tool collection, this combo makes more sense than buying a standalone impact driver. You get a brushless drill and impact driver, two batteries, charger, and bag — the two-tool setup that covers drilling holes and driving fasteners without switching bits constantly. The 7.6-inch front-to-back footprint on both tools is compact enough for cabinet and framing work in tight spots, echoing the strengths of the DCF787D1 in a fuller package. Compared with the older DCK240C2 combo, the brushless motors here deliver meaningfully better runtime. The tradeoff: the included impact driver isn’t the high-torque DCF845, so builders doing heavy structural work may eventually want an upgrade. And the sensitive variable-speed trigger demands a careful finger on delicate surfaces like softwood trim or plastic anchors.
Pros:- Two brushless tools cover drilling and driving in one purchase
- Two batteries, charger, and carrying bag included
- Compact 7.6-inch design fits tight spaces
- Ergonomic grip with bright LED and 20-second delay
Cons:- Included impact driver has less torque than the DCF845 line
- Hair-trigger variable speed requires care on delicate surfaces
Best for: New homeowners and apprentices who need a drill and impact driver together with batteries and a bag
Not ideal for: Buyers who only need an impact driver — paying for a drill you won’t use makes the single-tool DCF845P1 the better spend
- Model:DCK277D2
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Tools Included:Drill and impact driver
- Batteries Included:2
- Length:7.6 inches front-to-back
- LED Delay:20 seconds
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“The smartest starting point for anyone who needs both a drill and driver — skip it if an impact driver alone is the goal.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver, 1/4 Inch High Torque Brushless 3-Speed, Tool Only (DCF845B)
This is the same high-torque platform as the DCF845P1 kit — 1,825 in-lbs, 3,400 RPM, three speeds — sold without battery or charger, and that distinction is the entire buying decision. If your garage already holds a stack of DEWALT 20V MAX packs, this bare-tool route costs far less than rebuying power you own. Compared with the Zybaiiru bare tool, the DCF845B offers proven DEWALT build quality, a 3-year limited warranty, and the site-ready 3-LED work light, though the Zybaiiru counters with its reverse-stop feature at a lower price. The three-speed control is what separates this from single-speed budget drivers like the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C: precision on small fasteners, full force on structural lags. The downsides are straightforward — no battery in the box and premium pricing versus budget brands.
Pros:- Full 1,825 in-lb torque output matching the flagship kit version
- 3-speed selector plus variable trigger for precision work
- Backed by a 3-year limited warranty
- Belt hook and 3-LED light included on the bare tool
Cons:- Battery and charger sold separately
- Premium price compared with budget alternatives like the Zybaiiru or AVID POWER
Best for: Contractors and DIYers already invested in DEWALT 20V MAX batteries who want top-tier torque at a lower entry cost
Not ideal for: First-time tool buyers — adding battery and charger separately pushes total cost above the DCF845P1 kit
- Model:DCF845B
- Voltage:20V MAX XR
- Motor:Brushless
- Max Torque:1,825 in-lbs
- Max Speed:3,400 RPM
- Speed Settings:3
- Chuck Size:1/4 inch
- Battery Included:No (tool only)
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“The best value path to DEWALT’s top torque — but only if you already own the batteries.”
Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, Brushless, 16.8V with 25-Piece Accessory Set
This kit makes the most sense for someone building a tool collection from scratch, because it bundles a brushless drill and impact driver together with batteries, a charger, bits, and a case — everything a first garage setup needs. The impact driver’s 1,330 in-lbs of torque and three-speed control put it ahead of the single-speed CRAFTSMAN CMCF800C1, and the 60-minute charger keeps downtime short compared with the smaller-capacity kits in this roundup. Compared with the DEWALT DCK240C2, the tradeoff is clear: you give up the ecosystem depth, resale value, and refined build of a major brand in exchange for a lower buy-in and a lighter 2.1 lb tool body. The 16.8V platform is also a dead end — you won’t find the huge accessory lineup that 20V systems offer.
Pros:- Brushless motors in both tools with 1,330 in-lbs of impact torque
- Three-speed selector gives better control than single-speed rivals
- Two batteries, fast charger, 25 bits, and a case included
- Featherlight 2.1 lb tool bodies reduce fatigue on overhead work
Cons:- 16.8V proprietary platform locks you out of shared-battery ecosystems like DEWALT 20V MAX
- The drill is basic — no hammer mode or premium-brand refinement
Best for: First-time homeowners or DIYers who need both a drill and an impact driver in one affordable, complete package
Not ideal for: Buyers planning to expand a tool collection long-term — the proprietary 16.8V battery system has no wider ecosystem to grow into
- Voltage:16.8V
- Motor Type:Brushless
- Impact Driver Torque:1,330 in-lbs
- Impact Driver Speeds:3-speed (1700/2400/3300 RPM)
- Drill Torque:400 in-lbs, 20+1 clutch
- Batteries:2x 2000mAh lithium-ion
- Charge Time:60 minutes
- Tool Weight:2.1 lbs each
Our verdict“Buy this if you want a complete two-tool starter kit in one box; skip it if you’re already committed to a major brand’s battery platform.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 20V MAX Cordless Impact Driver Kit (CMCF800C1)
The CRAFTSMAN V20 CMCF800C1 occupies a sensible middle ground in this lineup: more established than the GALAX PRO, cheaper to enter than the DEWALT DCF787D1, and backed by the wider V20 battery family if you add tools later. Its 1,460 in-lbs of torque genuinely out-muscles the combo kit above, so deck screws and lag bolts are not a struggle. The compromise is simplicity — a single speed setting means no precision mode for soft materials or small fasteners, which the three-speed AVID POWER and DEWALT XR models handle better. The included 1.3Ah battery is also the bare minimum; expect recharge breaks during all-day projects. For weekend jobs, though, this is a low-risk entry into a real tool ecosystem.
Pros:- 1,460 in-lbs of torque handles lag bolts and large fasteners easily
- Battery, charger, and quick-release chuck all included
- Part of the expandable CRAFTSMAN V20 battery platform
- Brand-backed warranty and service network
Cons:- Only one speed setting limits control on delicate fastening
- 1.3Ah battery runs dry quickly under sustained load
Best for: Weekend DIYers who want a recognizable brand, solid torque, and a path into the broader V20 battery ecosystem without paying premium prices
Not ideal for: Daily-use pros or anyone doing precision fastening — the single speed and small battery become frustrating fast
- Torque:1,460 in-lbs
- Max Speed:2,800 RPM / 3,100 IPM
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Chuck:1/4-inch quick-release
- Battery:1.3Ah lithium-ion (included)
- Weight:2.5 lbs
- Features:LED work light, variable speed trigger
Our verdict“A dependable, ecosystem-friendly pick for occasional projects — just don’t expect the control or runtime of the premium three-speed models.”
GALAX PRO 20V Cordless Impact Driver with 1.3 Ah Battery and Charger
Of all the tools in this roundup, the GALAX PRO is the one I’d frame as a spare rather than a primary. It does the basics — a variable-speed trigger, tool-less collet, belt clip, and six bits with battery and charger included — which is more than some bare-tool options like the RYOBI PCL235B offer out of the box. But there’s no published torque figure, and that gap matters when the CRAFTSMAN CMCF800C1 advertises 1,460 in-lbs at a similar kit format; without a number, you’re gambling on heavy fastening performance. The single 1.3Ah battery and no ecosystem to expand into reinforce its role as a light-duty, low-commitment tool rather than a workshop cornerstone.
Pros:- Complete kit with battery, charger, bits, and belt clip included
- Variable-speed trigger gives control the fixed-speed options lack
- Tool-less collet makes bit swaps quick
- Soft rubber grip improves comfort during longer sessions
Cons:- No published torque rating makes real driving power a gamble
- Single 1.3Ah battery with no ecosystem for adding higher-capacity packs
Best for: Budget-conscious buyers or hobbyists who need an occasional-use driver for furniture assembly and light household fastening
Not ideal for: Anyone driving lag bolts or working regularly — the unverified torque output and single small battery won’t hold up to demanding jobs
- Voltage:20V Max
- Battery:1.3Ah lithium-ion (included)
- Speed:0–2,800 RPM variable
- Chuck:Tool-less collet, 1/4-inch
- Included Accessories:Charger, belt clip, six screwdriver bits
- Grip:Soft rubber handle
Our verdict“A cheap, complete kit for light tasks — but if fastening power matters, spend slightly more on the CRAFTSMAN for verified torque.”

How We Picked
I evaluated each impact driver through the lens a buyer actually uses: torque delivery and control, battery platform value, and what comes in the box. Models with brushless motors ranked higher than brushed equivalents because they run cooler, last longer on a charge, and have become the standard even at entry prices. I gave strong weight to speed settings — a three-speed tool lets you drop down for soft materials and small fasteners, while single-speed budget models force you to guess.
Kit-versus-bare-tool positioning also shaped the ranking. A bare tool that shares batteries with a platform you already own can outrank a more powerful kit you would have to buy into. Finally, I factored in brand ecosystem depth, warranty accessibility, and whether each tool fills a distinct role in this lineup — because two near-identical DEWALT drivers only both belong here if they serve different buyers, and I made sure they do.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Impact Drivers
Before settling on a specific model, it helps to understand what actually separates these tools and where buyers most often go wrong. These are the factors that drove my ranking and should drive your decision too.Torque Numbers Are Not the Whole Story
Every brand leads with a torque figure, usually expressed in inch-pounds, but those numbers are measured under ideal conditions and rarely translate directly to real-world fastening. A 2,200 in-lbs rating like the AVID POWER’s sounds twice as strong as a 1,375 in-lbs entry-level tool, yet for deck screws, cabinet installation and most furniture work, both will drive the fastener to flush before you can react. Where extra torque genuinely matters is lag bolts, structural screws and repeated automotive work. A common mistake is buying maximum torque and then discovering you have stripped screw heads because the tool never lets up. That is why I ranked multi-speed models higher despite modest torque figures — control beats peak power for most buyers.
Bare Tool or Kit: Do the Math First
Bare tools like the RYOBI PCL235B, Zybaiiru driver and DEWALT DCF845B look like bargains until you price a battery and charger separately, which can add substantial cost on top. The rule I followed: a bare tool only makes sense if you already own at least one compatible battery from another tool. If you are starting from nothing, a kit — even a modest one like the GALAX PRO with its compact 1.3 Ah battery — will almost always beat the bare-tool-plus-accessories route. Also pay attention to battery capacity in kits: a compact 1.5 Ah battery keeps weight down but drains fast under heavy impact work, while a 5 Ah battery like the DCF845P1’s changes how the tool handles in tight spaces. Buyers frequently overlook this tradeoff until the first long workday.
Battery Ecosystem Lock-In Is the Biggest Long-Term Decision
The impact driver you buy today quietly decides which brand of drill, saw, sander and flashlight you will buy for the next decade, because batteries are the expensive part and nobody wants two charging systems. DEWALT’s 20V MAX line is the deepest ecosystem in this roundup, with over 200 compatible tools, which partially explains why five of the 13 products here are DEWALT. RYOBI’s ONE+ platform is the value play — older and newer batteries are cross-compatible, and the tool selection covers nearly everything a homeowner needs. Budget brands like Robustrue, Zybaiiru and the 16.8V combo set use proprietary systems with limited expansion, so treat those as standalone purchases rather than the start of a collection. This single factor should outweigh small differences in torque specs.
Brushless Motors: Worth It at Every Price Now
Two or three years ago, brushless was a premium feature; today it appears in sub-$60 tools, which changes the calculus entirely. A brushless motor transfers more of the battery’s energy into rotational force, runs cooler during continuous use, and eliminates the carbon brushes that eventually wear out. The practical difference shows up on long fastening sessions — a brushed model like the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C will slow and heat up sooner than the brushless AVID POWER despite similar ratings. My advice: unless the budget genuinely cannot stretch, skip brushed motors in 2026. The exception is light-duty users; if you drive a few dozen screws a month, a brushed motor may outlive your interest in the tool anyway.
Speed Settings and Precision Modes
Single-speed impact drivers are either on or off, which is fine for rough framing but rough on cabinetry, electrical boxes and anything with soft brass or small fasteners. Three-speed models like both versions of the DEWALT DCF845 let you drop to a low setting where the impact mechanism barely engages, giving drill-like control for starting screws. Some premium tools add a self-tapping mode that slows and pauses before stripping a sheet-metal screw — a feature that saves real money if you do automotive or HVAC work. Buyers often dismiss these modes as gimmicks until the first time a single-speed tool snaps a screw off in an expensive workpiece. If your work spans delicate and heavy tasks, multi-speed control is worth more than another 200 in-lbs of torque.
Weight, Length and One-Handed Operation
An impact driver lives in your hand for hours, and the differences between models matter more than spec sheets suggest. Bare-tool weight varies by well over a pound across this lineup, and adding a 5 Ah battery can push a light tool into fatiguing territory for overhead work. Head length matters too — a shorter nose lets you work between joists and inside cabinets where a drill with a chuck simply will not fit, which is half the reason impact drivers exist. Check the collet design as well: all of these use 1/4-inch quick-release hex collets, but the sleeve quality varies, and a sticky collet that traps bits will annoy you on every bit change. Handle these tools in a store if you can; ergonomics are the one spec no review can fully convey.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is an impact driver better than a cordless drill for driving screws?
For pure fastening, yes — an impact driver applies concussive rotational blows that drive long screws without fighting back against your wrist, while a drill relies on steady torque that can twist the tool out of your grip. The impact mechanism also prevents cam-out, meaning the bit stays seated in the screw head instead of stripping it. However, a drill is still better for drilling holes because its chuck accepts round-shank bits and its clutch offers finer control on delicate materials. That is why combo kits like the DEWALT DCK240C2 and DCK277D2 exist: most people benefit from owning both. If you can only afford one tool and your work is mostly fastening, choose the impact driver and buy hex-shank drill bits.
Can I use the batteries from my existing tools with a new impact driver?
Only within the same brand platform and voltage line — there is no cross-brand standard, despite all these tools being labeled 18V or 20V. Note that 18V and 20V are actually the same nominal voltage; brands market the same cells differently, but a DEWALT 20V MAX battery still will not fit a CRAFTSMAN V20 or RYOBI ONE+ tool. Within a platform, compatibility is excellent: any DEWALT 20V MAX battery works across their entire line, and RYOBI ONE+ batteries fit tools going back over a decade. This is why I flagged ecosystem lock-in as the biggest long-term decision in the buying guide. Before buying any bare tool in this roundup, check your garage for existing batteries and let that anchor your choice.
Are cheap no-name impact drivers like Robustrue, Zybaiiru or GALAX PRO actually worth buying?
They can be, if your expectations match the price. Several budget models in this lineup now include brushless motors, decent torque ratings and complete kits with batteries, chargers and accessory sets — genuinely usable performance for occasional furniture assembly, fence repair or hobby projects. Where they fall short is longevity under daily use, warranty support, spare parts availability, and battery quality, which tends to mean faster capacity loss and shorter runtime than name-brand cells. If you use the tool a few times a month, those weaknesses may never matter. If you earn a living with it, the replacement cost and downtime of a failed budget tool will erase the initial savings quickly.
Should I buy a combo kit or a standalone impact driver?
Combo kits almost always deliver a lower cost per tool, and if you need both a drill and an impact driver, kits like the brushless DEWALT DCK277D2 are hard to beat on value. The catch is that kit drills are sometimes previous-generation designs bundled to move inventory, so compare the drill model number against the brand’s current standalone offerings before assuming you got the latest tool. Also watch battery count: a kit with two batteries lets you keep working while one charges, while single-battery kits create frustrating downtime on bigger jobs. If you already own a good drill, skip the combo and put the savings toward a higher-spec impact driver like the DCF845P1 with its larger 5 Ah battery.
What does a three-speed impact driver actually do that a single-speed one cannot?
Three-speed selection changes both the maximum rotational speed and the point at which the impact mechanism engages, which gives you a controllable low mode for starting screws and soft materials. On a single-speed tool, the driver immediately hits full power, which is great for lag bolts but prone to overdriving small screws, stripping brass hardware or cracking thin stock. With a three-speed model like the DEWALT DCF845, you can run mode one for cabinet hinges and mode three for structural screws without changing tools or technique. The difference is most visible in finish work and metal fastening, where one stripped fastener can ruin an expensive workpiece. If your projects span both heavy and delicate tasks, this feature justifies the step up in price on its own.
Conclusion
After comparing all 13 models, the right pick depends less on specs and more on who you are as a buyer. For the best overall choice, the DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed DCF845P1 kit stands out for combining brushless power, three-speed precision and a full battery-and-charger package, with the deepest accessory ecosystem behind it. The best value goes to the AVID POWER 20V brushless kit, which delivers brushless performance and accessories at a budget price, with the GALAX PRO kit as the fallback for the tightest budgets. For best premium, the DEWALT DCK277D2 brushless combo kit gives professionals two current-generation brushless tools and two batteries in one package.
Best for beginners is a split: the BLACK+DECKER BDCI20C for the simplest possible entry point, or the RYOBI ONE+ PCL235B for beginners who plan to grow into a full tool collection on a budget-friendly platform. For specific needs, the CRAFTSMAN CMCF800C1 suits homeowners wanting a trusted mid-range kit, the budget brushless combos from Robustrue and the 16.8V set cover occasional DIY use with accessories included, and the DEWALT DCF845B bare tool is the smart add-on for anyone already loaded with 20V MAX batteries. Match the tool to your existing batteries, your workload and your fastening precision needs, and none of these picks will disappoint.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
















