The DeWalt 20V MAX system has grown so large that picking the right first tool — or the right next tool — is genuinely tricky. My best overall pick is the DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Combo Kit (DCK1021D2), because it covers drilling, driving, cutting, and fastening in one platform-matched package at a better per-tool value than buying bare tools individually. If you already own batteries, the DCF845B impact driver and the DCF900B impact wrench stand out as the strongest single-tool upgrades, while the budget-friendly DCD771C2 drill kit makes the most sense for occasional DIY work. The main tradeoff you’ll face throughout this category is kit versus bare tool pricing, and brushed versus brushless motors — decisions that affect cost, runtime, and longevity. Keep reading for the full breakdown of what each tool does well, who it’s for, and which ones you should skip.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Combo kits dominated the value rankings: the DCK1021D2 and DCK940D2 deliver a lower effective cost per tool than any bare-tool purchase, making them the smart entry point for anyone starting from zero.
- Bare tools like the DCF845B impact driver and DCS356B multi-tool only make sense if you already own 20V MAX batteries and a charger — otherwise the kit versions (like the DCS356D1) close the gap quickly.
- Brushless models (XR lineup) consistently outpaced their brushed counterparts in runtime and control, but the brushed DCD771C2 and DCK240C2 remain legitimate picks for light-duty home use at lower cost.
- Specialty tools split sharply by trade: the DCE555B drywall cut-out tool and DCF510B ratchet earned their spots for pros, while the 4V FLEXDRIVE screwdriver is strictly a light-assembly tool, not a drill substitute.
- The DCE100B blower was the weakest performer relative to price in the lineup — its 100 CFM output limits it to workspace cleanup, so buyers wanting yard duty should look elsewhere in the DeWalt range.
| DeWalt tool | Model | Voltage | Motor |
|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless | — | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3- | DCF845B | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Co | DCS334B | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Os | DCS356B | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | DCW210B | — | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Osc | DCS356D1 | — | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Sea | DCF510B | 20V | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordles | DCK1021D2 | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | DCK277D2 | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Blower | DCE100B | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | DCD771C2 | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Dr | DCE555B | 20V | Brushless |
| DEWALT Cordless Screwdriver | — | 4V | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | — | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | — | — | Brushless |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit (DCK940D2)
For someone building a DeWalt collection from zero, this nine-tool kit solves the chicken-and-egg problem better than buying bare tools one at a time. You get a drill, impact driver, circular saw, reciprocating saw, angle grinder, oscillating tool, right-angle drill, plus a work light and Bluetooth speaker — essentially a jobsite in a bag. Compared with picking up the DCS356B or DCW210B separately, the per-tool cost math favors the kit heavily if you’d buy most of these anyway. The tradeoff is real, though: the included 2.0Ah batteries will drain fast on the circular saw and grinder, so anyone cutting sheet goods all day will want to add higher-capacity packs. The smaller DCK240C2 two-tool kit makes more sense if you only drill and drive — this one is for generalists.
Pros:- Nine tools cover drilling, fastening, cutting, grinding, and sanding prep in one purchase
- Batteries and charger included, so it works out of the bag
- Quick-change systems on the recip saw and oscillating tool speed up blade swaps
- LED work light and Bluetooth speaker add jobsite convenience
Cons:- Two 2.0Ah batteries are undersized for the circular saw and grinder
- Nine separate tools and accessories demand serious storage space
Best for: New homeowners, apprentices, or general contractors starting a 20V MAX collection from scratch
Not ideal for: Specialists who only need one or two tools — the DCS356D1 or DCK277D2 are cheaper paths to those specific capabilities
- Tool count:9 tools plus speaker and work light
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Drill/driver:1/2 in compact, 300 UWO
- Impact driver:1/4 in with three LED lights
- Circular saw:6-1/2 in carbide blade
- Batteries:Two 20V MAX XR 2.0Ah
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Buy this if you’re starting a workshop from nothing; skip it if you only need to fill one or two gaps in an existing kit.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, 1/4-Inch (DCF845B), Tool Only
This is the fastening workhorse of the roundup. With 1,825 in-lbs of torque and a brushless motor, the DCF845B out-muscles anything in the DCK940D2 combo kit, where the impact driver is a more basic brushed unit. The three-speed selector is what separates it from cheaper one-speed drivers: the low setting prevents cam-out and stripped screws on delicate cabinetry, while the top setting drives lag bolts without bogging down. It also bridges nicely toward heavier work — if you’re choosing between this and the DCF900B impact wrench, the wrench wins for lug nuts but this handles 90% of everyday fastening at lower weight. The obvious catch is the bare-tool pricing structure: no battery, no charger. Existing 20V MAX owners pay nothing extra; newcomers pay a hidden premium.
Pros:- 1,825 in-lbs of torque handles lag bolts and structural fastening
- Three-speed selector protects delicate fasteners and small screws
- Brushless motor runs cooler and delivers longer runtime than brushed alternatives
- Integrated three-LED work light with delay illuminates tight spaces
Cons:- Battery and charger sold separately
- No precision modes or tool-controlled modes found on premium-tier impact drivers
Best for: Existing 20V MAX owners who want to upgrade from a brushed impact driver or combo-kit unit
Not ideal for: First-time buyers with no DeWalt batteries — the DCK277D2 combo includes two batteries for similar money to this plus a battery and charger
- Model:DCF845B
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Torque:1,825 in-lbs
- Speed:Up to 3,400 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Configuration:Tool only
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“The strongest everyday fastener in this lineup — buy it only if you already own 20V MAX batteries.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Jig Saw (DCS334B), Bare Tool
When straight-line cutting is covered by the circular saw in the DCK940D2 kit, the DCS334B fills the gap that kit leaves open: curves, circles, and intricate finish work. The four-position orbital action is the decision-maker here — aggressive orbital settings rip through rough lumber quickly, while zero-orbital gives clean splinter-free cuts in plywood trim. Tool-free bevel detents at 0°, 15°, 30°, and 45° mean you’re not hunting for an Allen key mid-cut, a real upgrade over older models like the DCS331. The brushless motor stretches a single battery noticeably further, which matters because, like the DCS356B, this ships bare. Woodworkers and deck builders get the most from it; someone who only makes the occasional straight cut should spend elsewhere, since the kit’s circular saw already covers that job more efficiently.
Pros:- Four-position orbital action lets you trade cut speed for cut quality
- Tool-free blade changes and bevel adjustments keep you working
- Brushless motor delivers longer runtime than the older DCS331
- T-shank blade compatibility accepts premium blades from multiple makers
Cons:- Bare tool only — battery and charger not included
- No included blade variety pack for different materials
Best for: Finish carpenters, deck builders, and DIY woodworkers who need curved cuts and bevel capability
Not ideal for: Occasional straight-cut users — a circular saw does that work faster and cheaper
- Model:DCS334B
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Blade speed:Up to 3,200 strokes per minute
- Orbital action:4 positions
- Bevel detents:0°, 15°, 30°, 45°
- Blade type:T-shank
- Configuration:Bare tool only
Our verdict“The cutting specialist’s pick — worth it for curve work, redundant if you only cut straight lines.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Oscillating Multi-Tool, Tool Only (DCS356B)
Oscillating tools earn their keep on jobs nothing else reaches, and the DCS356B is the refined standalone choice over the kit version. The DCS356D1 bundles a battery for plug-and-play use, but this bare tool costs less if you already have 20V MAX packs — a sensible add-on for anyone who bought the DCK940D2. The brushless motor claims up to 57% more runtime than brushed versions, and the three-speed selector matters more than it sounds: low speeds keep blades from scorching door jambs during undercutting, while 20,000 OPM powers through nails and grout removal. The tool-free Quick-Change system beats wrench-based designs when you’re swapping between cutting, sanding, and scraping every few minutes. The included two wood blades won’t last a full remodel, so budget for a fuller accessory assortment.
Pros:- Quick-Change accessory system swaps blades without wrenches
- Three-speed selector matches speed to material, protecting blades and workpieces
- Brushless motor extends runtime substantially over brushed models
- Universal adapter accepts non-DeWalt accessories
Cons:- Battery and charger not included
- Only two wood-cutting blades in the box — a full accessory kit is an extra purchase
Best for: Remodelers, flooring installers, and existing DeWalt owners who need flush cuts, grout removal, and detail sanding
Not ideal for: Batteryless newcomers — the DCS356D1 kit with an included battery and charger is the better entry point
- Model:DCS356B
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed settings:3 (0–20,000 OPM max)
- Accessory change:Quick-Change, tool-free
- Included accessories:Two wood-cutting blades
- Lighting:LED work light
- Configuration:Tool only
Our verdict“The best bare-tool oscillating choice for anyone already in the DeWalt battery ecosystem.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless Random Orbital Sander, Tool Only (DCW210B)
Cordless sanding used to mean trading runtime for convenience, but the DCW210B’s brushless motor makes that trade barely noticeable. The 8,000–12,000 OPM variable speed range translates directly into finish quality — low speeds for delicate veneers and between-coat work, high speed for stripping. Its low-profile design puts your hand closer to the work surface than taller-bodied competitors, which pays off in control on flat panels and edges. It pairs naturally with the DCS356B for detail sanding the round pad can’t reach. The honest weaknesses are in the dust ecosystem: the locking dust bag works, but the hose adapters for the DWV010 and DWV012 vacuums are sold separately, and corded sanders still win on continuous marathon sessions. For shop-free finishing work — deck rails, installed trim, job-site touch-ups — nothing else here matches it.
Pros:- Variable speed from 8,000 to 12,000 OPM suits everything from stripping to fine finishing
- Low-profile body improves control on edges and flat panels
- Brushless motor maximizes runtime per battery charge
- One-handed locking dust bag and dust-sealed switch stand up to fine particles
Cons:- Dust collector hose adapters and universal quick connector sold separately
- Replacement hook-and-loop pads are an additional purchase
- Continuous heavy sanding drains batteries faster than corded equivalents
Best for: Finish carpenters and DIY refinishers doing on-location sanding where outlets aren’t available
Not ideal for: Shop-based woodworkers with wall power — a corded sander offers unlimited runtime for less money
- Model:DCW210B
- Power:20V MAX cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed:8,000–12,000 OPM variable
- Sanding pad:Replaceable 8-hole hook-and-loop
- Dust collection:One-handed locking dust bag; compatible with DWV010/DWV012 (adapters sold separately)
- Configuration:Tool only
Our verdict“The clear choice for cordless finish sanding on site — skip it if your work happens next to an outlet.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1)
The DCS356D1 suits jobs where a full-size saw or sander would be awkward: trimming in place, scraping, or sanding a small patch. Its three-speed selector and variable-speed trigger let me match the pace to the material, while the tool-free Quick-Change system makes switching attachments less of a chore. Compared with the DCS356B, this kit includes a battery and charger, so it is the more ready-to-work choice for someone without a compatible 20V MAX setup. That convenience comes with less flexibility for buyers who already own batteries, since they may prefer the bare tool. The brushless motor is specified to provide up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor, though actual runtime depends on the task and battery. The compact work role also means it is not a substitute for a dedicated saw on long cuts.
Pros:- Brushless motor is specified for up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor.
- Tool-free Quick-Change system speeds up accessory swaps.
- Three-speed selector and variable-speed trigger support controlled work.
- Kit includes a battery, charger, blades, and sandpaper.
Cons:- A compact oscillating tool is slower than a dedicated saw for extended cutting.
- The included battery and charger may be redundant for existing 20V MAX owners.
Best for: DIY renovators and repair technicians who need controlled trimming, scraping, or spot sanding and want a battery and charger in the kit.
Not ideal for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who already have batteries and prefer a bare tool, or anyone expecting a multi-tool to handle long, fast cuts.
- Model:DCS356D1
- Power:20V MAX cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed control:Three-speed selector and variable-speed trigger
- Accessory system:Tool-free Quick-Change
- Accessory compatibility:Universal adapter for most oscillating tool accessory brands
- Lighting:Bright LED
- Included items:Battery, charger, blades, and sandpaper
Our verdict“Choose this kit for controlled detail work if you need its included battery and charger; established 20V MAX owners may prefer the DCS356B bare tool.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Sealed Head Ratchet, 3/8″ and 1/2″ (DCF510B, Bare Tool)
The DCF510B is a specialized choice for mechanics and repair workers who spend time fastening in tight spaces. Its interchangeable 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch anvils cover two common drive sizes without requiring separate ratchets, and the sealed head and glass-filled nylon housing are designed to resist automotive oils and solvents. At 75 ft-lb of maximum torque, it offers more fastening help than a hand ratchet, but its 0–300 RPM no-load speed is modest; this is a convenience tool for access and repetitive work, not a speed-focused replacement for an impact wrench such as the DCF900B. The 3.1-pound weight and 1.25-foot length also call for room to maneuver. Since this is a bare tool, buyers need a compatible battery and charger already on hand or must obtain them separately.
Pros:- Interchangeable 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch anvils cover two common drive sizes.
- Brushless motor delivers up to 75 ft-lb of maximum torque.
- Sealed head and glass-filled nylon housing resist oils and solvents.
- LED, variable-speed trigger, forward/reverse switch, and trigger lock aid control.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- Maximum no-load speed of 300 RPM is slower than some competing ratchets.
- Its 3.1-pound weight and 1.25-foot length can be cumbersome in cramped access points.
Best for: Automotive technicians and home mechanics who already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and regularly work around oil or solvents.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a DEWALT battery platform, or users seeking high-speed fastening power for stubborn fasteners.
- Model:DCF510B
- Voltage:20V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum torque:75 ft-lb
- No-load speed:0–300 RPM
- Drive sizes:Interchangeable 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch
- Weight:3.1 lb
- Length:1.25 ft
- Battery included:No; bare tool
Our verdict“Pick the DCF510B for oil-resistant, dual-drive ratchet work if you have compatible batteries; choose an impact wrench for faster, heavier fastening.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit (DCK1021D2)
For a buyer building out a shared cordless setup, the DCK1021D2 bundles 10 tools with two batteries, a charger, and two bags. That breadth is its main advantage over the DCK277D2, which focuses on the everyday drill-and-impact-driver pairing and includes fewer tools to manage. The larger kit may suit a crew or a shop with varied tasks, while the two included batteries will need rotation as several tools get used. The product data mentions variable-speed controls, quick-change features on select tools, an LED work light, a Bluetooth speaker, and a compact tool depth of 7.6 inches. It does not identify all 10 tools, and it gives no battery capacity or charging time, making it harder to judge task coverage and runtime before buying. I would verify the exact tool list against the seller’s current listing.
Pros:- Includes 10 cordless tools for a broad range of tasks.
- Two batteries and a charger are included.
- Two bags provide a way to carry and store the tools.
- Features include variable-speed controls, select quick-change mechanisms, an LED work light, and a Bluetooth speaker.
Cons:- The supplied product data does not identify all 10 tools.
- Battery capacity and charging time are not specified.
- A broad kit may include tools a buyer does not need.
Best for: Contractors or serious DIYers assembling a shared 20V MAX tool collection for varied tasks.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a clearly specified tool lineup, or those who only need a drill and impact driver in a compact kit.
- Model:DCK1021D2
- Power system:20V MAX cordless
- Tools included:10
- Batteries included:2
- Charger included:Yes
- Bags included:2
- Compact tool depth:7.6 in.
- Other features:Variable-speed controls, select quick-change mechanisms, LED work light, and Bluetooth speaker
Our verdict“Choose this kit to outfit a varied work setup in one purchase, after confirming the tool list matches your needs.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, 2 Tools with 2 Batteries, Charger, and Bag (DCK277D2)
The DCK277D2 centers on two tools many buyers reach for repeatedly: a cordless drill and an impact driver. Its two batteries, charger, and carrying bag make it a more focused starting point than the 10-tool DCK1021D2, whose broader lineup may be unnecessary for someone still building a basic kit. A 7.6-inch front-to-back design helps the tools fit into tighter spaces, and the variable-speed trigger supports more measured starts than a simple on/off control. The impact driver’s quick-release hex chuck speeds bit changes, while the LED stays on for 20 seconds after trigger release to help with a dim work area. The product data does not provide battery capacity or performance figures, so buyers cannot compare runtime or drilling and fastening output from these specs alone.
Pros:- Pairs a cordless drill with an impact driver for common drilling and fastening tasks.
- Includes two batteries, a charger, and a carrying bag.
- Compact 7.6-inch front-to-back design suits tighter spaces.
- Impact driver has a quick-release hex chuck and a 20-second LED delay.
Cons:- Battery capacity is not specified.
- The product data gives no drill or impact driver performance figures.
- Two tools cover fewer job types than the DCK1021D2 10-tool kit.
Best for: New homeowners and DIYers who want a practical drill-and-impact-driver pair with batteries and a charger included.
Not ideal for: Contractors who need a wider range of tools in one kit, or buyers who need published performance and battery capacity figures before choosing.
- Model:DCK277D2
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Tools included:Cordless drill and impact driver
- Batteries included:2
- Included accessories:Charger and carrying bag
- Length:7.6 in. front to back
- Chuck:Quick-release hex chuck
- Lighting:LED with 20-second trigger-release delay
Our verdict“Choose the DCK277D2 for a compact, ready-to-use drill-and-driver foundation; opt for the DCK1021D2 when tool variety matters more.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Blower, 100 CFM, Variable Speed, Bare Tool (DCE100B)
The DCE100B is made for targeted cleanup: clearing a bench, blowing dust from a work area, or reaching overhead without dragging out a corded blower. At 2.5 pounds, it is easier to handle for short cleanup passes than a larger yard blower, and three speed settings help limit airflow when debris is close to something delicate. Its 100 CFM capacity points to a light-duty role; for broad yard cleanup, this is less suited than a larger blower, while the DCS356D1 is the better pick for scraping or sanding rather than moving loose debris. Three nozzle attachments add some flexibility, and a trigger lock can reduce finger fatigue during longer bursts. This is a bare tool, though, so the battery and charger must be supplied separately.
Pros:- Lightweight 2.5-pound handheld design is easy to maneuver.
- Three speed settings provide airflow control for different cleanup tasks.
- Trigger lock can reduce fatigue during sustained use.
- Includes three nozzle attachments.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- 100 CFM airflow is limited for larger cleanup jobs.
- The 135 mph maximum air speed does not replace the capacity of a full-size yard blower.
Best for: Woodworkers, installers, and workshop owners who need a light blower for dust and small debris in confined work areas.
Not ideal for: Homeowners clearing large yards, wet leaves, or heavy debris, and buyers who need a battery and charger included.
- Model:DCE100B
- Power source:Battery powered, 20V
- Airflow capacity:100 CFM
- Maximum air speed:135 mph
- Speed settings:3
- Weight:2.5 lb
- Dimensions:12.6 × 5.7 × 7.85 in.
- Included attachments:3 nozzle attachments
- Battery and charger:Not included; bare tool
Our verdict“Choose the DCE100B for quick, targeted shop cleanup if you already own a compatible battery; pick a larger blower for yard work.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Kit (DCD771C2)
The DCD771C2 is my pick for straightforward drilling and fastening when a full combo kit feels like more than the job requires. Its two-speed transmission lets me favor control for driving screws or faster rotation for drilling, while the 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck grips a broad range of bits. Compared with the DCK240C2, it gives up the impact driver but keeps the kit focused on one familiar tool; that makes sense for occasional household repairs, though less so for crews switching between drilling and fastening all day. Two included batteries help keep work moving, but their 1.3Ah capacity means shorter stretches between swaps than higher-capacity packs. I would choose another tool for masonry or sustained heavy-duty work.
Pros:- Compact, lightweight body is easier to maneuver in tight work areas
- Two speeds support both controlled screw driving and faster drilling
- 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck grips a wide range of bits
- Includes two batteries, charger, and contractor bag
Cons:- Not suited to concrete or masonry drilling
- Included 1.3Ah batteries need more frequent swaps than higher-capacity packs
- Lacks the impact driver included with the DCK240C2 combo
Best for: Homeowners and DIYers who need a ready-to-use drill for wood, metal, and routine fastening jobs
Not ideal for: Tradespeople drilling masonry or working through long shifts who need hammer action, greater durability, or longer battery runtime
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor power:300 UWO
- Speed settings:2
- Speed range:0–450 and 0–1,500 RPM
- Chuck:1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting
- Batteries:2 XR 1.3Ah lithium-ion batteries
- Included:Batteries, charger, and contractor bag
- Model:DCD771C2
Our verdict“Choose the DCD771C2 for everyday drilling and fastening in a complete, compact kit; pick the DCK240C2 if you also need an impact driver.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Drywall Cut-Out Tool, Bare Tool (DCE555B)
The DCE555B is a specialist for cutting openings in drywall and wall paneling, where its 26,000 RPM brushless motor and depth guide support quick, controlled passes. Its 1.6-pound weight can make repeated overhead cuts less tiring than handling a larger general-purpose tool. Compared with the DCS356B oscillating multi-tool, this model is dedicated to cut-outs and offers a purpose-built depth guide; the multi-tool is the more flexible choice for varied trimming and scraping tasks. That focus is also the tradeoff: this tool has a narrower role, and the bare-tool configuration requires a compatible battery and charger. Tool-free bit changes and an LED help on site, but buyers should account for the extra battery tracking chip cost if they want Tool Connect features.
Pros:- Brushless 26,000 RPM motor supports fast, consistent cuts
- Depth guide helps control cut depth in wall panels
- Tool-free bit changes speed up bit swaps
- Compact 1.6-pound design and LED suit overhead or dim work areas
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Specialized cut-out function is less versatile than an oscillating multi-tool
- Tool Connect chip is sold separately
Best for: Drywall installers and remodelers who regularly cut openings for outlets, switches, and fixtures
Not ideal for: DIYers seeking one versatile tool for sanding, scraping, and varied cuts, or buyers without a compatible 20V MAX battery
- Voltage:20V
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum speed:26,000 RPM
- Compatible bit sizes:1/8, 5/32, and 1/4 inch
- Weight:1.6 lb
- Dimensions:4.5 × 3.5 × 10.38 inches
- Configuration:Bare tool; battery and charger not included
- Model:DCE555B
Our verdict“Pick the DCE555B for frequent, controlled drywall openings if you already own compatible DEWALT batteries.”
DEWALT Cordless Screwdriver, 4V USB Rechargeable with 12-pc Bit Set, LED Light, FLEXDRIVE Control (DWHT66719)
For furniture assembly and small household fixes, the DWHT66719 offers a more controlled alternative to a full-size 20V drill. Its six torque settings, soft start, and FLEXDRIVE collar help reduce the chance of stripping a screw when the material or fastener calls for a lighter touch. The built-in battery charges by USB in about 60 minutes, and the included 12-piece bit set makes it ready for basic jobs. Compared with the DCD771C2, this screwdriver is easier to carry and better tuned to delicate fastening, but its 4V motor and 44 in-lb powered torque are not substitutes for a drill or impact driver. It can finish screws manually up to the stated 124 in-lb, though that takes more effort than powered driving.
Pros:- Six torque settings and soft start support more controlled screw driving
- USB charging takes about 60 minutes
- Includes 12 two-inch bits and a quick-load collet
- Four-LED work light illuminates the fastener area
Cons:- 4V power is limited for heavy-duty fastening and drilling
- Manual finishing is needed beyond 44 in-lb of powered torque
- Integral 2Ah battery cannot be swapped for a fresh pack mid-task
Best for: Apartment dwellers, furniture assemblers, and homeowners handling light fastening and small repairs
Not ideal for: Contractors or DIYers driving long screws, drilling holes, or tackling frequent heavy-duty fastening
- Voltage:4V
- Maximum powered torque:44 in-lb (5 Nm)
- Maximum manual torque:124 in-lb (14 Nm)
- No-load speed:Up to 360 RPM
- Torque settings:6-stage adjustment
- Battery:2Ah integral battery
- Recharge time:60 minutes via USB
- Included bits:12 two-inch bits
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DWHT66719 for portable, careful screw driving around the home, and the DCD771C2 for drilling or tougher jobs.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
The DCK240C2 earns its place as the most practical starting point here for buyers who need both drilling and powered fastening. The 1/2-inch drill/driver handles holes and general-purpose work, while the compact 1/4-inch impact driver is better suited to driving fasteners without tying up the drill. Both tools have LED lights with a 20-second delay, and the included batteries, charger, and bag make this a usable two-tool kit from the start. Compared with the DCD771C2, it adds the impact driver and greater task flexibility, at the cost of carrying two tools. It is less specialized than the DCE555B for drywall cut-outs, and the supplied details do not specify battery capacity, so buyers planning long work sessions may want to check the included pack configuration.
Pros:- Combines a drill/driver and impact driver for distinct tasks
- Compact tool lengths suit work in tighter spaces
- LED lights remain on for 20 seconds after trigger release
- Includes two batteries, charger, and bag
Cons:- Two tools take more storage space and weight than a single drill kit
- Battery capacity is not specified in the supplied product data
- Does not include a specialized tool for drywall cut-outs
Best for: First-time homeowners and DIYers who want one kit for drilling holes and driving a range of fasteners
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a single lightweight tool, a dedicated drywall cutter, or documented high-capacity batteries for extended work
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Impact driver chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Impact driver length:5.55 inches
- Impact driver weight:2.8 lb
- Drill/driver chuck:1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting
- Drill/driver length:7.5 inches
- Drill/driver weight:3.6 lb
- Included:Two batteries, charger, and bag
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DCK240C2 if you want a ready-to-go drill and impact driver pair for varied home projects.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless 1/2-Inch Impact Wrench (DCF900B), Tool Only
With up to 1,030 ft-lb fastening torque and 1,400 ft-lb breakaway torque, the DCF900B is the heavy-duty choice in this group for stubborn large fasteners. Four modes, a variable-speed trigger, and Precision Wrench control give experienced users more control than a simple full-power trigger pull. Compared with the DCK240C2, which pairs a drill with a compact impact driver for general projects, this wrench is built for demanding automotive, construction, and farm work where high torque matters. That strength brings a clear tradeoff: it is a specialized, more powerful tool that is unnecessary for routine household screws and lighter fastening. The battery is sold separately, so it makes the most sense for buyers already invested in DEWALT 20V MAX packs.
Pros:- High fastening and breakaway torque for demanding fasteners
- Four modes and variable-speed trigger allow speed and power control
- Precision Wrench control supports more controlled fastening
- LED work light and shock-absorbing battery connection support jobsite use
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- High torque is excessive for routine small fasteners
- Specialized impact-wrench design does not replace a drill/driver
Best for: Automotive technicians, equipment mechanics, and contractors removing or fastening large, stubborn bolts
Not ideal for: Homeowners seeking a general drill or driver for furniture, small fasteners, or light repair work
- Power source:20V MAX cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Anvil:1/2-inch hog ring
- Maximum fastening torque:1,030 ft-lb
- Maximum breakaway torque:1,400 ft-lb
- Speed settings:4 modes
- Battery:Sold separately
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DCF900B for large, stubborn fasteners when you already have compatible batteries and need serious torque.”

How We Picked
I evaluated each tool against four yardsticks: real-world performance (power, speed control, and runtime against comparable models in the lineup), build quality and warranty backing, value per dollar (especially the effective cost per tool once batteries and chargers are accounted for), and versatility across buyer types — whether a tool earns its place for a contractor, a weekend DIYer, or both. Because DeWalt’s 20V MAX line shares batteries, I also weighed how each product fits into a growing system, which is why combo kits ranked highly for newcomers and bare tools ranked highly for existing owners.
The ranking logic is straightforward: platform-building purchases come first (they unlock everything else), high-leverage single tools next (impact driver, impact wrench, multi-tool), and niche or limited-scope tools last — not because they’re poorly made, but because they serve narrower missions. Every product here had to clear a bar of durability and performance; the ordering reflects how broadly useful each one is, not just how good it is in isolation.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best DeWalt Tools
Before committing to any single tool, it helps to understand how DeWalt organizes its lineup and where the real money decisions sit. These are the factors that shaped my rankings and the ones most buyers get wrong.Kit or Bare Tool: The Math Changes Everything
The single most common mistake is buying a bare tool without owning a battery and charger. A bare impact driver looks cheap until you add a battery, and at that point the two-tool combo kits — like the DCK277D2 or DCK240C2 — often cost barely more while adding a second tool and a bag. The reverse mistake is equally costly: buying a full nine- or ten-tool kit when you already own three batteries and only need two new tools. My rule of thumb: if you own zero or one 20V MAX batteries, buy a kit; if you own three or more, buy bare. The battery accounting matters more than any individual tool’s spec sheet, and it’s the fastest way to either save hundreds or waste them.
Brushed vs. Brushless: When the Upgrade Pays
DeWalt’s XR brushless motors run cooler, last longer, and squeeze more work from each charge, but the premium only pays off under real workload. For a homeowner hanging shelves twice a month, the brushed DCD771C2 will likely outlive its usefulness. For anyone driving lag bolts, cutting material all day, or working professionally, brushless isn’t a luxury — the runtime difference compounds across every battery cycle. A useful middle path is the DCK277D2, which brings brushless motors into a mid-priced two-tool combo. The mistake to avoid is paying brushless money for tools whose brushed versions were never the bottleneck, like a light-duty blower used purely for bench cleanup.
Battery Platform Strategy (20V MAX vs. Everything Else)
Everything on this list runs on the 20V MAX platform except the 4V FLEXDRIVE screwdriver, and that consistency is deliberate — it’s the largest and most future-proof DeWalt ecosystem. The real decision within the platform is battery amp-hour class: compact 2Ah packs keep tools light and cheap, while 5Ah and larger packs unlock full performance from high-draw tools like the DCF900B impact wrench, which can feel underwhelming on small packs. Buyers often blame the tool when the battery is the limiter. If you’re starting fresh, choose a kit with at least one higher-capacity pack, then supplement with compacts for weight-sensitive tools like the jig saw and sander.
Match the Tool to the Trade, Not the Brand
Brand loyalty leads people to buy tools they don’t need — the DCE100B blower is a prime example: fine for clearing a workbench, disappointing if you expected yard performance. Before buying, ask what percentage of your actual work this tool covers. The DCE555B drywall cut-out tool and DCF510B ratchet are excellent but trade-specific; a generalist buying them ‘just in case’ is spending money that would go further toward a multi-tool or impact wrench. The 80/20 rule applies: a drill, impact driver, and multi-tool handle the vast majority of tasks for most buyers, and specialty tools should be purchased when a repeated job demands them, not before.
Warranty, Serviceability, and Long-Term Cost
DeWalt’s three-year limited warranty, one-year free service, and 90-day money-back guarantee apply across this lineup, which removes some risk from the buying decision — but it doesn’t cover batteries equally in practice, and batteries are usually the first failure point. That’s another argument for kit purchases: replacement batteries are expensive enough that a kit price can be justified by the included packs alone. Also worth knowing: bare tools carry no battery risk at purchase but shift all battery cost to you later. Serviceability is a genuine DeWalt strength thanks to its wide service network, and it’s a quiet reason the brand’s tools hold value better than most competitors on resale.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy the 9-tool kit (DCK940D2) or the 10-tool kit (DCK1021D2)?
The two kits overlap heavily, so the right answer depends on what the extra tool is worth to you and which specific tools each kit contains versus your actual needs. The 10-tool kit generally adds a light-duty tool like the DCE100B blower or trim router on top of the 9-tool core — useful, but not a game-changer for most buyers. If the price gap is small, the 10-tool kit is the better platform play; if the gap is meaningful, the 9-tool kit covers the same essential drilling, driving, cutting, and fastening work. Check the exact tool list of each at purchase time, since DeWalt occasionally revises kit contents, and buy against the one or two tools you’d actually use weekly rather than total tool count.
Is the DCF845B impact driver enough, or do I also need the DCF900B impact wrench?
They solve different problems, and the confusion costs people money in both directions. The impact driver handles screws and lags with a 1/4-inch hex interface — it’s the everyday fastening tool. The impact wrench uses a 1/2-inch anvil and delivers far more torque for lug nuts, bolts, and suspension hardware. If you never touch automotive or heavy-bolt work, the DCF900B will sit idle; if you do, an impact driver with adapter sockets is a frustrating near-miss that can damage fasteners. Most homeowners need only the driver; mechanics, deck builders, and equipment owners genuinely need both.
Are the brushed kits like the DCD771C2 and DCK240C2 still worth buying in 2026?
Yes, for the right buyer — and that buyer is the occasional DIYer, not someone working weekly. The brushed motors are heavier, less efficient, and shorter-lived under heavy use, but the tools themselves are proven, cheap to buy into, and fully compatible with the entire 20V MAX battery line, so nothing you buy later is wasted. If your drilling involves wood screws, furniture assembly, and the occasional 2×4, you’ll never push the brushed motor to its limits. The line I’d draw: once you’re driving large fasteners regularly or using a tool all day, step up to the brushless DCK277D2 instead — the runtime and durability gap is real at that usage level.
Is the oscillating multi-tool a gimmick, and kit (DCS356D1) or bare (DCS356B)?
It’s the opposite of a gimmick — it’s one of the most versatile tools on this list, handling flush cuts, plunge cuts, sanding, grout removal, and scraping jobs that no other tool does well. The three-speed brushless DCS356 is the model to get regardless of configuration. On kit versus bare: the DCS356D1 includes a battery and charger, so if you don’t already own 20V MAX batteries, the kit version almost always wins on math. If you do, buy the bare DCS356B and spend the difference on blades, because blade quality drives multi-tool performance as much as the tool itself — budget for good ones from day one.
Can the 4V FLEXDRIVE screwdriver replace a drill for light work?
It can replace a drill for assembly-style tasks — cabinet hardware, outlet covers, PC builds, flat-pack furniture — and it does those jobs better than a drill because of its adjustable clutch, compact size, and USB charging. What it can’t do is drill holes or drive anything with real resistance; the 4V motor simply stops there. The right framing is that it’s a complement, not a substitute: FLEXDRIVE for delicate repetitive fastening, 20V drill for everything else. If you’re choosing one first tool only, buy the drill kit — but if you already own a 20V tool or two, the FLEXDRIVE is a genuinely useful low-cost addition for precision work.
Conclusion
For most buyers, the best overall choice is the DCK1021D2 10-tool combo kit — it builds the complete 20V MAX platform in one purchase at the best per-tool value on this list, with the 9-tool DCK940D2 as the close runner-up if the extras don’t match your work. The best value picks are the DCD771C2 drill kit for light-duty homeowners and the DCK277D2 for anyone wanting brushless performance without a ten-tool commitment. On the premium end, existing owners should put money into the DCF900B impact wrench — nothing else here delivers as much capability per dollar for heavy fastening — while specialty pros get their money’s worth from the DCE555B drywall tool and DCF510B ratchet. Beginners should start with DCK240C2 or DCD771C2 and grow from there. And for specific needs: the DCF845B is the single best one-tool upgrade, the DCS356B/D1 multi-tool is the versatility champion, and the FLEXDRIVE screwdriver earns a spot only for precision light assembly. Whatever you choose, buy into the platform deliberately — batteries first, tools second — and every future DeWalt purchase gets cheaper.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















