15 Best Cordless Brushless Impact Drivers for Home and Workshop Projects in 2027
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

Among these cordless brushless impact drivers, I rank the DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Impact Driver (DCF845B) as the best overall for buyers who value adjustable speed and control. The Makita XDT13Z is a strong tool-only choice for people already on Makita’s 18V LXT platform, while the Greenworks 24V combo stands out for buyers who want two tools and USB-C battery charging in one kit. The main tradeoff is between investing in a familiar battery platform and choosing a bundle with more included gear. Compactness, speed settings, and kit contents can matter as much as headline torque for everyday fastening. Read on for my full breakdown of all 15 options and how to match a driver to your work.

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
15
compared
9
brands
2
motors
24 V
max voltage
Which cordless brushless impact driver should you buy?
★ Top Pick
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
Best Brushless Starter Combo
Includes both a brushless drill and a brushless impact driver
See on Amazon →
DEWALT 20V MAX tool owners who want a brushless impact driver with multiple speed settings and already have batteries and a charger.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-
Brushless motor with three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger
View on Amazon →
DIYers who fasten into a mix of wood and metal and want several speed and material settings in a complete kit.
SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordl
Four speed settings and three stated material modes
View on Amazon →
DEWALT 20V MAX users who need a drill and impact driver with batteries, charger, and bag in one package.
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac
Includes a drill/driver and an impact driver
View on Amazon →
DIYers who want a standalone brushless impact driver kit with higher-capacity included batteries for longer stretches between swaps.
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
Includes two 4.0Ah lithium-ion batteries
View on Amazon →
Voltage — compared
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless21V
SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordl21V
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac20V
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless21V
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless21 V
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill a20 V
Brushless Cordless Drill and I16.8 V
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Com20 V
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONN20 V
AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushl20 V
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact20 V MAX
Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill24 V
Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-18 V
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordle20 V
Pros & cons at a glance
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
✓ Includes both a brushless drill and a brushless impact driver
✗ The 2.0Ah batteries may require frequent swaps during prolonged work
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-
✓ Brushless motor with three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger
✗ Battery and charger are sold separately
SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordl
✓ Four speed settings and three stated material modes
✗ Estimated runtime ranges from 30 to 90 minutes and depends on the task
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac
✓ Includes a drill/driver and an impact driver
✗ The supplied product details do not state that the tools have brushless motors
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
✓ Includes two 4.0Ah lithium-ion batteries
✗ Maximum speed is listed as 1,400 RPM without detailed speed ranges
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
✓ Two included 4.0Ah batteries provide more capacity per battery than the 2.0Ah packs supplied with several kits here.
✗ Only one speed is listed, offering less speed control than the BLACK+DECKER three-speed driver.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill a
✓ Includes both a drill/driver and an impact driver, covering drilling and fastening with one kit.
✗ The product data does not specify a brushless motor, unlike the brushless drivers in this roundup.
Brushless Cordless Drill and I
✓ Both tools have brushless motors, with each listed at 2.1 lb.
✗ The impact driver’s listed 1,330 in-lb torque is below the GoYwato kit’s 2,655 in-lb figure.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Com
✓ The 5.02-inch tool head is suited to fastening in tight or obstructed spaces.
✗ Listed maximum torque of 1,000 in-lb is lower than the GoYwato and BLACK+DECKER figures in this group.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONN
✓ Three speed settings and a variable trigger offer more control than the one-speed GoYwato driver.
✗ Only one 2Ah battery is included, unlike kits supplied with two batteries.
AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushl
✓ Brushless motor with stated maximum torque of 2,220 in-lb
✗ Battery capacity and expected runtime are not specified
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact
✓ Compact design suited to work in tight spaces
✗ Source information lists conflicting battery capacities
Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill
✓ Includes both a 1/2-inch drill/driver and a 1/4-inch impact driver
✗ The included batteries are 2.0Ah each, which may limit work between charges for sustained use
Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-
✓ Compact 5-inch design with a 1.9 lb tool-only weight
✗ Battery and charger are not included
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordle
✓ Three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger support controlled fastening
✗ Maximum torque is lower than the AVID POWER’s stated 2,220 in-lb

Complete the kit

DEWALT Drill Bit Set, 21 Pc High Speed Steel DEWALT Bits,...
DEWALT Drill Bit Set, 21 Pc High Speed Steel DEWALT Bits,…
Add to your setup →
DEWALT Drill Bit Set, 3-Flats Shank,14-Piece, 135 Degree...
DEWALT Drill Bit Set, 3-Flats Shank,14-Piece, 135 Degree…
Add to your setup →
10 PCS SDS Plus Rotary Hammer Drill Bit Set (Ø 5 - 12 x 8")
10 PCS SDS Plus Rotary Hammer Drill Bit Set (Ø 5 – 12 x 8")
Add to your setup →

Key Takeaways

  • The DEWALT DCF845B leads for control: its three speed settings give it a more adjustable feel than simpler single-speed options, but it is sold as a tool only.
  • Platform ownership changes value: the Makita XDT13Z and DEWALT DCF845B make more sense when you already own compatible batteries and a charger.
  • Combo kits serve a different need than driver-only kits: GoYwato, DEWALT, CRAFTSMAN, and Greenworks bundles add a drill, while the Greenworks kit also includes USB-C charging.
  • Compact kits and broad accessory bundles are not interchangeable: the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact kit prioritizes a smaller tool, while several budget bundles emphasize included batteries and accessories.
  • Specifications need context: the AVID POWER kit lists 2,220 in-lb torque, but buyers should weigh stated output alongside speed control, platform support, and the actual contents of the kit.
2
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-
Best for DEWALT 20V MAX Owners
1
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
Best Brushless Starter Combo
3
SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordl
Best for Adjustable Fastening Modes

Our Top Cordless Brushless Impact Drivers Picks

GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo KitGoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo KitBest Brushless Starter ComboVoltage: 21VDrill chuck: 3/8-inch keylessDrill torque: Up to 531 in-lbs (60 N·m)VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, Tool Only (DCF845B)DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, Tool Only (DCF845B)Best for DEWALT 20V MAX OwnersModel: DCF845BVoltage platform: DEWALT 20V MAXMotor: BrushlessVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-InchSundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-InchBest for Adjustable Fastening ModesVoltage: 21VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 2,832 in-lbsVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)Best Two-Tool Kit for DEWALT Platform BuyersModel: DCK240C2Included tools: DCD771 drill/driver and DCF885 impact driverVoltage: 20VVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-InchGoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-InchBest for Longer Battery CapacityVoltage: 21VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 2,655 in-lbs (300 N·m)VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver KitGoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver KitBest Kit for Extended Fastening SessionsVoltage: 21 VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 2,655 in-lb (300 N·m)VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and ChargerCRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and ChargerBest for Beginners Building a Two-Tool SetupVoltage: 20 VBattery type and capacity: Lithium-ion, 2Ah eachBatteries included: 2VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo KitBrushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo KitBest Lightweight Brushless ComboVoltage: 16.8 VMotor: BrushlessBattery capacity: 2Ah eachVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit (CMCF811D1)CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit (CMCF811D1)Best Compact Pick for Tight SpacesVoltage: 20 VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 1,000 in-lbVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless Cordless Impact Driver SetBLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless Cordless Impact Driver SetBest for Adjustable Speed ControlVoltage: 20 VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 2,000 in-lbVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, 2,220 in-lb TorqueAVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, 2,220 in-lb TorqueBest Complete Kit for DIY ProjectsVoltage: 20 VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 2,220 in-lbVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)Best for Tight-Space WorkVoltage: 20 V MAXMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 1,500 in-lb (source units reported inconsistently)VIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah USB-C Batteries and 65W ChargerGreenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah USB-C Batteries and 65W ChargerBest Two-Tool SystemVoltage: 24 VMotor: BrushlessImpact driver torque: 1,950 in-lbVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Impact Driver (Tool Only)Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Impact Driver (Tool Only)Best for Existing Makita OwnersVoltage: 18 VMotor: BL BrushlessMaximum torque: 1,500 in-lbVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit (CMCF830D2)CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit (CMCF830D2)Best for Speed Control and Spare BatteriesVoltage: 20 VMotor: BrushlessMaximum torque: 1,800 in-lbVIEW LATEST PRICESee Our Full Breakdown
Specs at a glance
cordless brushless impact driverVoltageMotorMaximum torqueWeight
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless21V———
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-—Brushless1,825 in-lbs1 kg
SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordl21VBrushless2,832 in-lbs—
DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impac20V——3.6 lbs
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless21VBrushless2,655 in-lbs (300 N·m)3.62 lbs
GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless21 VBrushless2,655 in-lb (300 N·m)3.62 lb (1.64 kg)
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill a20 V———
Brushless Cordless Drill and I16.8 VBrushless——
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Com20 VBrushless1,000 in-lb3.8 lb
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONN20 VBrushless2,000 in-lb4.2 lb
AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushl20 VBrushless2,220 in-lb2.16 lb
DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact20 V MAXBrushless1,500 in-lb (source units reported inconsistently)4.4 lb
Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill24 VBrushless——
Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-18 VBL Brushless1,500 in-lb—
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordle20 VBrushless1,800 in-lb—

More Details on Our Top Picks

  1. GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit

    GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit

    Best Brushless Starter Combo

    View Latest Price

    I’d choose this kit when the job calls for both drilling holes and driving fasteners, rather than another impact driver on its own. The brushless drill and 1/4-inch impact driver make it more versatile than the standalone SundpeyPRO 21V kit, while the two batteries and included accessories let a DIYer start with one package. The drill’s two speed ranges and 21+1 clutch settings help with controlled drilling and screw driving; the impact driver’s stated torque is higher than the DEWALT DCF845B’s, though those figures alone don’t establish how the tools perform under load.

    The main compromise is 2.0Ah battery capacity: frequent or demanding work may call for more swaps than the GoYwato 4.0Ah kit. The product notes that some bit movement in the impact chuck is normal, which may bother buyers expecting a very secure, steady fit.

    Pros:
    • Includes both a brushless drill and a brushless impact driver
    • Two 2.0Ah batteries and a fast charger are included
    • Drill offers two speeds and 21+1 clutch settings
    • Comes with assorted bits, sockets, and a carrying case
    Cons:
    • The 2.0Ah batteries may require frequent swaps during prolonged work
    • Some movement of bits in the impact driver chuck is described as normal

    Best for: Home DIYers who need a drill for holes and an impact driver for fasteners, plus a ready-to-use set of bits and sockets.

    Not ideal for: People doing extended work away from a charger or who want a standalone impact driver with more battery capacity.

    • Voltage:21V
    • Drill chuck:3/8-inch keyless
    • Drill torque:Up to 531 in-lbs (60 N·m)
    • Impact driver torque:Up to 2,655 in-lbs (300 N·m)
    • Impact driver speed:2,000 and 2,500 RPM
    • Impact rate:Up to 3,750 IPM
    • Batteries:2 × 2.0Ah
    • Impact driver weight:3.04 lbs
    Our verdict
    “Choose this GoYwato combo if you need two brushless tools for varied home projects and can work within the limits of 2.0Ah batteries.”
  2. DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, Tool Only (DCF845B)

    DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, Tool Only (DCF845B)

    Best for DEWALT 20V MAX Owners

    View Latest Price

    The DCF845B is the clearest fit here for buyers who already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and want a standalone brushless impact driver. Its three speed settings and variable-speed trigger give more stated control options than the two-speed GoYwato 4.0Ah kit, while the three-LED work light helps illuminate the fastener area. The listed 1,825 in-lbs of torque is below the figures claimed for the SundpeyPRO and GoYwato drivers, so this pick is less compelling if maximum stated torque is your main filter.

    Its tool-only format keeps the purchase focused on the driver, but it also means a new user needs a compatible battery and charger separately. Compared with the GoYwato combo, it offers no drill or included bits; the advantage is a familiar battery platform and a compact, feature-focused tool with a three-year limited warranty.

    Pros:
    • Brushless motor with three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger
    • Compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX batteries
    • Three-LED work light illuminates the work area
    • Three-year limited warranty
    Cons:
    • Battery and charger are sold separately
    • No drill, bits, or other accessories are included
    • Listed maximum torque is lower than the GoYwato and SundpeyPRO drivers

    Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX tool owners who want a brushless impact driver with multiple speed settings and already have batteries and a charger.

    Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers or anyone who needs a complete kit, a drill, or included batteries.

    • Model:DCF845B
    • Voltage platform:DEWALT 20V MAX
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:1,825 in-lbs
    • Maximum speed:3,400 RPM
    • Speed settings:3
    • Weight:1 kg
    • Warranty:3-year limited warranty
    Our verdict
    “Pick the DCF845B if you already have DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and value adjustable control over an all-in-one kit.”
  3. SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch

    SundpeyPRO 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch

    Best for Adjustable Fastening Modes

    View Latest Price

    I’d put the SundpeyPRO on the shortlist for buyers who want more ways to tailor an impact driver to the material. Its four speed settings and three material modes provide more stated adjustment than the DEWALT DCF845B’s three speed settings, and the modes are described for wood, thin iron, and thick iron. That flexibility can help buyers choose a more measured setting rather than relying on one high-speed approach. The listed 2,832 in-lbs of torque also exceeds the DEWALT’s stated figure, though torque claims aren’t a substitute for application-specific performance.

    The kit includes two 2.0Ah batteries, sockets, bits, and a case, making it more ready to go than the DEWALT tool-only option. Its runtime is estimated at 30–90 minutes per charge and varies by speed and material, so longer sessions may involve battery changes. The listing also notes some bit movement after installation.

    Pros:
    • Four speed settings and three stated material modes
    • Includes two 2.0Ah batteries, charger, bits, sockets, and case
    • Brushless motor with a built-in ring LED light
    • Quick-change 1/4-inch chuck
    Cons:
    • Estimated runtime ranges from 30 to 90 minutes and depends on the task
    • Some bit movement after installation is described as normal
    • The two 2.0Ah batteries may be limiting for extended heavy use

    Best for: DIYers who fasten into a mix of wood and metal and want several speed and material settings in a complete kit.

    Not ideal for: Users who need long uninterrupted work sessions or prefer a brand-platform tool with clearly specified battery compatibility.

    • Voltage:21V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:2,832 in-lbs
    • Maximum speed:3,200 RPM
    • Speed settings:4
    • Working modes:3: wood, thin iron, thick iron
    • Batteries:2 × 2.0Ah
    • Estimated runtime:Approximately 30–90 minutes per charge
    Our verdict
    “Choose the SundpeyPRO if you want multiple fastening modes and a supplied kit, but plan for battery swaps during longer jobs.”
  4. DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)

    DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)

    Best Two-Tool Kit for DEWALT Platform Buyers

    View Latest Price

    This DEWALT package makes sense for buyers who need a drill and an impact driver together and want both tools on the 20V MAX platform. It includes two lithium-ion batteries, a charger, and a contractor bag, whereas the standalone DCF845B provides neither a drill nor a battery. Both tools have LED work lights, and the impact driver’s one-handed 1/4-inch hex chuck supports quick bit changes during mixed tasks.

    There is a key distinction from the GoYwato brushless combo: the supplied description for this DEWALT kit does not identify either tool as brushless, so buyers specifically seeking brushless impact drivers should favor options that state that feature, such as the GoYwato or SundpeyPRO. The product details also conflict on the impact-driver model number, and the listed 1,700 in-lbs of torque is the only torque figure provided. I’d treat this as a platform-oriented two-tool kit, not a brushless-first pick.

    Pros:
    • Includes a drill/driver and an impact driver
    • Two lithium-ion batteries, charger, and contractor bag are included
    • Both tools have integrated LED work lights
    • Impact driver has a one-handed 1/4-inch hex chuck
    Cons:
    • The supplied product details do not state that the tools have brushless motors
    • Description sections list different impact-driver model numbers
    • The available specs provide limited detail on speed settings and battery capacity

    Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX users who need a drill and impact driver with batteries, charger, and bag in one package.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who require a clearly specified brushless motor or need unambiguous impact-driver model details.

    • Model:DCK240C2
    • Included tools:DCD771 drill/driver and DCF885 impact driver
    • Voltage:20V
    • Listed torque:1,700 in-lbs
    • Weight:3.6 lbs
    • Batteries:2 lithium-ion batteries
    • Included accessories:Charger and contractor bag
    • Warranty:3-year limited warranty
    Our verdict
    “Choose this DEWALT combo for a battery-equipped two-tool package, but skip it if confirmed brushless construction is a requirement.”
  5. GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch

    GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch

    Best for Longer Battery Capacity

    View Latest Price

    Among the standalone kits here, this GoYwato stands out for its two 4.0Ah batteries. That’s twice the stated capacity per battery of the SundpeyPRO kit, a practical advantage for buyers who want fewer interruptions between charges. It also includes sockets, driver bits, a charger, and a case, so it arrives better equipped than the tool-only DEWALT DCF845B. The brushless motor is rated for up to 2,655 in-lbs, below SundpeyPRO’s listed 2,832 in-lbs, while its two forward speeds offer fewer adjustment steps than that rival’s four.

    The main uncertainty is the listed 1,400 RPM maximum, with no speed ranges provided. That makes it harder to judge its pace against drivers with more detailed speed specifications. Reverse automatic stop can help prevent a fastener from spinning out when backing it out, but buyers who need fine speed selection may prefer the SundpeyPRO or DEWALT’s three-speed setup.

    Pros:
    • Includes two 4.0Ah lithium-ion batteries
    • Brushless motor with up to 2,655 in-lbs of stated torque
    • Reverse automatic stop can help control backing out fasteners
    • Supplied with a charger, sockets, bits, and carrying case
    Cons:
    • Maximum speed is listed as 1,400 RPM without detailed speed ranges
    • Two forward speeds offer fewer adjustments than the SundpeyPRO’s four
    • At 3.62 lbs, it is heavier than the listed DEWALT DCF845B

    Best for: DIYers who want a standalone brushless impact driver kit with higher-capacity included batteries for longer stretches between swaps.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize several speed choices or want clearly detailed RPM ranges for selecting a fastening pace.

    • Voltage:21V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:2,655 in-lbs (300 N·m)
    • Maximum speed:1,400 RPM
    • Speeds:2 forward speeds
    • Chuck:1/4-inch
    • Batteries:2 × 4.0Ah
    • Weight:3.62 lbs
    Our verdict
    “Pick this GoYwato if battery capacity and a complete accessory kit matter more to you than detailed speed control.”
  6. GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit

    GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit

    Best Kit for Extended Fastening Sessions

    View Latest Price

    The GoYwato pairs a listed 2,655 in-lb of torque with two 4.0Ah batteries, making it a practical choice for buyers who want spare capacity in the box rather than a bare tool. Its reverse automatic stop is a useful touch when removing fasteners: it helps keep loosened screws from flying out. Compared with the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT, this kit has a higher stated torque figure and larger included batteries, but BLACK+DECKER offers three speed settings while GoYwato lists only one. That limits how much control you have for delicate fastening. The supplied sockets, bits, and case suit a ready-to-work kit, though the listed 1,400 rpm maximum speed and unspecified runtime leave less clarity about pace and endurance.

    Pros:
    • Two included 4.0Ah batteries provide more capacity per battery than the 2.0Ah packs supplied with several kits here.
    • Listed maximum torque of 2,655 in-lb suits demanding fastening tasks.
    • Reverse automatic stop helps control loosened screws during removal.
    • Includes 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, a charger, and a carrying case.
    Cons:
    • Only one speed is listed, offering less speed control than the BLACK+DECKER three-speed driver.
    • The listed maximum speed is 1,400 rpm, and runtime is not specified.
    • At 3.62 lb, it may feel less nimble during prolonged overhead work than lighter compact options.

    Best for: DIYers and home workshop owners who want two large-capacity batteries, included sockets, and a case for repeated fastening jobs.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need adjustable speed for delicate materials or want published runtime and battery-protection details before choosing.

    • Voltage:21 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:2,655 in-lb (300 N·m)
    • Maximum rotational speed:1,400 rpm
    • Speed settings:1
    • Chuck:1/4 in hex
    • Batteries:2 × 4.0Ah
    • Weight:3.62 lb (1.64 kg)
    • Included accessories:Charger, 14 sockets, 10 screwdriver bits, carrying case
    Our verdict
    “Choose the GoYwato if a substantial accessory set and two 4.0Ah batteries matter more than multiple speed settings.”
  7. CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and Charger

    CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with 2 Batteries and Charger

    Best for Beginners Building a Two-Tool Setup

    View Latest Price

    This CRAFTSMAN kit is the practical pick for someone who needs to drill holes and drive fasteners but does not own either tool yet. The included drill has two speed ranges and 280 UWO, while the impact driver reaches a listed 1,460 in-lb of torque; together, they cover more kinds of home projects than a standalone driver. Compared with the brushless CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Compact Impact Driver, this combo adds a drill and two batteries, but the driver is not identified as brushless and its 2Ah batteries have modest capacity. Both tools have LED work lights, and the contoured handles support work in tighter spots. Buyers focused on a brushless impact driver alone should look at the BLACK+DECKER or GoYwato kits instead; this set trades motor technology and kit compactness for broader task coverage.

    Pros:
    • Includes both a drill/driver and an impact driver, covering drilling and fastening with one kit.
    • Two batteries and a charger let users keep one pack available while the other charges.
    • Drill offers two speed ranges for matching its pace to different tasks.
    • Both tools include LED work lights, and the kit comes with a storage bag.
    Cons:
    • The product data does not specify a brushless motor, unlike the brushless drivers in this roundup.
    • The included batteries are 2Ah, limiting capacity compared with the GoYwato kit’s two 4.0Ah packs.
    • Only two bits are included, so buyers may need additional accessories for varied jobs.

    Best for: First-time homeowners or DIYers who need both a drill/driver and an impact driver for occasional repairs, assembly, and basic renovation work.

    Not ideal for: Buyers specifically seeking a brushless driver, higher-capacity batteries, or a single compact tool for intensive fastening.

    • Voltage:20 V
    • Battery type and capacity:Lithium-ion, 2Ah each
    • Batteries included:2
    • Drill speed:0–350 rpm and 0–1,500 rpm
    • Drill power:280 UWO
    • Impact driver torque:1,460 in-lb
    • Impact driver speed:2,800 rpm
    • Impact rate:3,100 bpm
    • Included accessories:Charger, storage bag, PH #2 bit, double-sided bit
    Our verdict
    “Choose this CRAFTSMAN combo if you need a basic drill and impact driver together, but skip it if brushless performance is your priority.”
  8. Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit

    Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit

    Best Lightweight Brushless Combo

    View Latest Price

    At a listed 2.1 lb per tool, this brushless combo favors a lighter, more manageable feel over the higher torque claims of standalone options such as the GoYwato 21V Impact Driver Kit. It supplies a drill and impact driver, two 2Ah batteries, a fast charger, a case, and a 25-piece accessory set, so new DIYers can start with both tools and common bits. The impact driver’s three listed speed settings provide more choice than GoYwato’s single-speed setup, while the drill adds 20+1 clutch settings for routine screwdriving. The tradeoff is lower stated impact-driver torque at 1,330 in-lb and relatively small batteries. Its 16.8V platform and listed drilling capacity of up to 1 inch in wood point toward household projects, not sustained heavy-duty work.

    Pros:
    • Both tools have brushless motors, with each listed at 2.1 lb.
    • Impact driver provides three listed speed settings and a maximum impact rate of 4,000 bpm.
    • Drill has 20+1 clutch settings for more controlled screwdriving.
    • Includes two batteries, a 60-minute charger, a case, and a 25-piece accessory set.
    Cons:
    • The impact driver’s listed 1,330 in-lb torque is below the GoYwato kit’s 2,655 in-lb figure.
    • Each battery is 2Ah, which may mean more frequent pack changes during extended work.
    • Listed drill capacity is limited to 1 inch in wood, making it a less suitable choice for demanding drilling.

    Best for: DIYers who want a lighter brushless drill-and-driver pair for furniture assembly, household repairs, and occasional drilling.

    Not ideal for: Users regularly driving large fasteners or drilling demanding materials who would benefit from higher stated torque and greater battery capacity.

    • Voltage:16.8 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Battery capacity:2Ah each
    • Batteries included:2
    • Impact driver maximum torque:1,330 in-lb
    • Impact driver speed:1,700, 2,400, and 3,300 rpm
    • Maximum impact rate:4,000 bpm
    • Drill clutch settings:20+1
    • Tool weight:2.1 lb each
    Our verdict
    “Pick this set for a lightweight brushless pair and useful accessories, not for maximum fastening power or long runtimes.”
  9. CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit (CMCF811D1)

    CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact Impact Driver Kit (CMCF811D1)

    Best Compact Pick for Tight Spaces

    View Latest Price

    The CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP is the clearest fit here when access and tool length matter more than a high torque figure. Its 5.02-inch head is designed to reach into tighter work areas, making it a more targeted choice than the bulkier GoYwato kit, which supplies more torque and larger batteries but has no comparable short-head measurement listed. CRAFTSMAN specifies a brushless motor and says the included 2Ah battery can drive up to 294 three-inch deck screws per charge, offering a useful reference for deck and framing tasks. The tradeoff is a listed 1,000 in-lb maximum torque, well below GoYwato’s 2,655 in-lb claim. It also includes only one battery, so extended work may involve pauses for charging. VERSATRACK accessories are sold separately.

    Pros:
    • The 5.02-inch tool head is suited to fastening in tight or obstructed spaces.
    • Brushless motor is specified, with the product description citing faster driving and longer runtime.
    • Includes a 2Ah battery and charger.
    • Product data cites up to 294 three-inch deck screws per charge.
    Cons:
    • Listed maximum torque of 1,000 in-lb is lower than the GoYwato and BLACK+DECKER figures in this group.
    • Only one 2Ah battery is included, limiting pack rotation during long work sessions.
    • VERSATRACK belt clips and accessories are sold separately.

    Best for: Deck builders, installers, and home repairers who often fasten screws in narrow cavities or other restricted work areas.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need high stated torque, a second battery in the kit, or a complete accessory package ready for varied jobs.

    • Voltage:20 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:1,000 in-lb
    • Tool head length:5.02 in
    • Weight:3.8 lb
    • Battery:2.0Ah lithium-ion
    • Compatible system:VERSATRACK
    • Included components:Impact driver, CMCB202 battery, CMCB101 charger
    Our verdict
    “Choose this CRAFTSMAN when its short head and brushless motor matter more than maximum torque or a two-battery kit.”
  10. BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Set

    BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX POWERCONNECT Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Set

    Best for Adjustable Speed Control

    View Latest Price

    The BLACK+DECKER stands out for combining a listed 2,000 in-lb of torque with three speed settings and a variable trigger. That range gives DIYers more control over fastening pace than the one-speed GoYwato 21V kit, which lists a higher torque figure but less speed adjustment. It also includes a 2Ah battery, charger, and seven-piece bit set, so the core setup is ready for routine home projects. A quick-change hex chuck, LED, and belt clip support practical day-to-day use. Its tradeoffs are a single, modest-capacity battery and a listed weight of 4.2 lb, which makes it less appealing for long overhead sessions than the 2.1 lb-per-tool brushless combo kit. The extended warranty also requires registration within 30 days.

    Pros:
    • Three speed settings and a variable trigger offer more control than the one-speed GoYwato driver.
    • Brushless motor and listed maximum torque of 2,000 in-lb suit a range of DIY fastening tasks.
    • Includes a 2Ah battery, charger, and seven-piece impact-driver bit set.
    • Quick-change chuck, built-in LED, and belt clip support convenient everyday use.
    Cons:
    • Only one 2Ah battery is included, unlike kits supplied with two batteries.
    • Listed weight of 4.2 lb makes it heavier than the 2.1 lb-per-tool brushless combo kit.
    • The additional three-year warranty requires product registration within 30 days.

    Best for: Home DIYers who want adjustable fastening speed, a brushless motor, and a basic battery-and-bit kit for varied household jobs.

    Not ideal for: Buyers prioritizing low tool weight, multiple included batteries, or a high-capacity pack for extended work.

    • Voltage:20 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:2,000 in-lb
    • Maximum rotational speed:3,200 rpm
    • Impact rate:Up to 3,800 ipm
    • Speed settings:3
    • Chuck:1/4 in
    • Battery:2Ah lithium-ion
    • Weight:4.2 lb
    Our verdict
    “Choose the BLACK+DECKER for adjustable speed and a brushless DIY driver, provided you are comfortable with one 2Ah battery and its listed weight.”
  11. AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, 2,220 in-lb Torque

    AVID POWER 20V Cordless Brushless Impact Driver Kit, 1/4-Inch, 2,220 in-lb Torque

    Best Complete Kit for DIY Projects

    View Latest Price

    The AVID POWER is the strongest fit here for a DIYer who wants an impact driver and basic accessories in one box. Its stated 2,220 in-lb torque exceeds the CRAFTSMAN V20’s 1,800 in-lb figure, while the AVID POWER kit also supplies four sockets and four driver bits. Two speed settings, variable-speed control, and a reverse brake stop give users some control over fastening without relying on a more feature-heavy setup. At 2.16 lb, it is also a light option for overhead or repeated household tasks. The tradeoff is thinner ownership information: battery capacity and runtime are not specified, and warranty details are absent. Compared with the DEWALT DCF787D1, the AVID POWER offers more included bits and higher stated torque, but less clarity around battery and support.

    Pros:
    • Brushless motor with stated maximum torque of 2,220 in-lb
    • Two speed settings and variable-speed control for adapting to different fastening tasks
    • Reverse brake stop can help limit fastener overrun
    • Includes a battery, charger, four sockets, and four driver bits
    Cons:
    • Battery capacity and expected runtime are not specified
    • Warranty details are not provided in the product information

    Best for: DIY homeowners who want a lightweight brushless driver with starter sockets and bits for occasional repairs and home projects.

    Not ideal for: Frequent users who need a stated battery capacity, published runtime information, or clearly documented warranty coverage.

    • Voltage:20 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:2,220 in-lb
    • Maximum speed:2,600 rpm
    • Speed settings:2
    • Chuck size:1/4 in
    • Weight:2.16 lb
    • Included components:Impact driver, battery, charger, four driver bits, four sockets
    Our verdict
    “Choose the AVID POWER if you want a light, accessory-packed DIY kit and can accept limited battery and warranty details.”
  12. DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

    DEWALT 20V MAX 1/4-Inch Impact Driver Kit with Battery and Charger (DCF787D1)

    Best for Tight-Space Work

    View Latest Price

    The DEWALT DCF787D1 earns its place for buyers who put compact access and a ready-to-use kit ahead of maximum torque. Its stated 1,500 in-lb is below the AVID POWER’s 2,220 in-lb and the Greenworks combo’s 1,950 in-lb, so it is a more modest choice for demanding fastening. The brushless motor is designed for runtime and durability, and the included battery, charger, and belt hook make it easier to start work without assembling a kit from separate purchases. A light that stays on for 20 seconds after trigger release can help with a fastener in a dim corner. The supplied information has conflicting battery-capacity figures and inconsistent torque units, which makes specification certainty a drawback. Choose this over the Makita XDT13Z if you need a battery and charger included.

    Pros:
    • Compact design suited to work in tight spaces
    • Brushless motor is designed for increased runtime and durability
    • Includes a battery, charger, and belt hook
    • LED light remains on for 20 seconds after the trigger is released
    Cons:
    • Source information lists conflicting battery capacities
    • Maximum torque units are inconsistent in the source information

    Best for: Homeowners and installers who need a compact 20V driver kit for cabinets, fixtures, and fastening in confined spaces.

    Not ideal for: Users tackling frequent heavy fastening who want higher stated torque or dependable, unambiguous battery specifications.

    • Voltage:20 V MAX
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:1,500 in-lb (source units reported inconsistently)
    • Maximum rotational speed:2,800 rpm
    • Chuck size:1/4 in
    • Battery listed:20V MAX lithium-ion; capacity reported inconsistently as 2Ah and 1.3Ah
    • Weight:4.4 lb
    • Included components:Battery, charger, belt hook
    Our verdict
    “Pick the DEWALT DCF787D1 for a compact, ready-to-use kit in tight work areas, but not when high torque or clear battery specifications are priorities.”
  13. Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah USB-C Batteries and 65W Charger

    Greenworks 24V Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit with Two 2.0Ah USB-C Batteries and 65W Charger

    Best Two-Tool System

    View Latest Price

    The Greenworks kit makes the most sense when a buyer needs a drill and an impact driver, rather than an impact driver alone. Its 1,950 in-lb driver sits below the AVID POWER’s stated 2,220 in-lb, but this package adds a 1/2-inch drill/driver, two batteries, a three-port USB-C charger, and a carrying case. That versatility makes it a better starting point for home projects involving both drilling and fastening than the standalone Makita XDT13Z, which arrives without a battery or charger. The batteries can also serve as USB-C power banks, a useful extra when charging small devices away from an outlet. The tradeoff is that each battery is 2.0Ah, and the listing does not clarify whether the stated 4.7 lb weight includes batteries. Skip it if you only need a driver and want the simplest kit.

    Pros:
    • Includes both a 1/2-inch drill/driver and a 1/4-inch impact driver
    • Two 2.0Ah batteries and a 65W three-port USB-C charger are included
    • Batteries can also function as USB-C power banks
    • Includes bits, USB-C cables, and a carrying case
    Cons:
    • The included batteries are 2.0Ah each, which may limit work between charges for sustained use
    • The listed 4.7 lb weight does not specify whether batteries are included in that figure

    Best for: New homeowners or workshop users who need both a drill/driver and impact driver, plus shared batteries and USB-C charging.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who already own a compatible drill or battery platform and want a standalone impact driver with fewer bundled tools.

    • Voltage:24 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Impact driver torque:1,950 in-lb
    • Impact driver speed:3,400 rpm
    • Drill chuck size:1/2 in
    • Drill torque:400 in-lb
    • Batteries:Two 2.0Ah USB-C batteries
    • Charger:65W USB-C, three-port
    • Warranty:3-year limited warranty
    Our verdict
    “Choose Greenworks if you need a coordinated drill-and-driver kit with USB-C charging, rather than a standalone impact driver.”
  14. Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Impact Driver (Tool Only)

    Makita XDT13Z 18V LXT Lithium-Ion Brushless Cordless Impact Driver (Tool Only)

    Best for Existing Makita Owners

    View Latest Price

    The Makita XDT13Z is a sensible platform addition for someone who already owns 18V LXT batteries and a charger. Its tool-only format keeps the purchase focused, while the brushless motor, 1,500 in-lb maximum torque, and 0–3,400 rpm range suit routine fastening without adding kit components the buyer may already have. At 1.9 lb before a battery and with a compact 5-inch design, it is easier to maneuver than the Greenworks drill-and-driver bundle, though that bundle is a more complete start for buyers without tools. The Makita’s single speed setting offers less task-specific control than the CRAFTSMAN’s three-speed gearbox, and its stated torque is lower than the AVID POWER’s. Battery and charger are not included, so this is a poor first-tool choice unless the LXT platform is already in your workshop.

    Pros:
    • Compact 5-inch design with a 1.9 lb tool-only weight
    • Brushless motor with a stated maximum torque of 1,500 in-lb
    • Variable speed from 0 to 3,400 rpm
    • Includes an integrated LED light and a 3-year limited warranty
    Cons:
    • Battery and charger are not included
    • Single speed setting offers less task-specific control than the CRAFTSMAN CMCF830D2

    Best for: Makita 18V LXT owners who want a compact brushless impact driver as a bare-tool addition to their existing battery collection.

    Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers or anyone without compatible Makita batteries and a charger, since both must be acquired separately.

    • Voltage:18 V
    • Motor:BL Brushless
    • Maximum torque:1,500 in-lb
    • Maximum speed:3,400 rpm
    • Maximum impact rate:3,600 ipm
    • Tool-only weight:1.9 lb
    • Weight with battery:3.3 lb
    • Warranty:3-year limited warranty
    Our verdict
    “Buy the Makita XDT13Z as a compact bare tool if you already own compatible LXT batteries; otherwise, a complete kit is a more practical starting point.”
  15. CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit (CMCF830D2)

    CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless Cordless Impact Driver Kit (CMCF830D2)

    Best for Speed Control and Spare Batteries

    View Latest Price

    The CRAFTSMAN CMCF830D2 stands out for buyers who value adjustable control and want two batteries in the box. Its three-speed gearbox and variable-speed trigger offer more ways to manage fastening than the Makita XDT13Z’s single-speed setup, while its stated 1,800 in-lb torque is a middle ground between the Makita’s 1,500 and AVID POWER’s 2,220. Two 2.0Ah batteries can reduce interruptions for household jobs, and the storage bag, belt hook, LED, and onboard bit holders make the kit practical to carry and organize. The tradeoff is that its torque figure is lower than the AVID POWER’s, and the product information does not specify maximum speed beyond 3,200 rpm. The VERSATRACK storage accessory is sold separately, so this is not a complete wall-storage setup.

    Pros:
    • Three speed settings and a variable-speed trigger support controlled fastening
    • Brushless motor with stated maximum torque of 1,800 in-lb
    • Includes two 2.0Ah batteries and a charger
    • LED, onboard bit holders, belt hook, and storage bag support organized work
    Cons:
    • Maximum torque is lower than the AVID POWER’s stated 2,220 in-lb
    • VERSATRACK storage accessory is sold separately

    Best for: DIYers and maintenance users who want a brushless 20V driver with multiple speed choices and a spare battery for longer work sessions.

    Not ideal for: Buyers who need the highest stated torque in this group or expect VERSATRACK wall storage to come in the box.

    • Voltage:20 V
    • Motor:Brushless
    • Maximum torque:1,800 in-lb
    • Maximum speed:3,200 rpm
    • Speed settings:3
    • Chuck size:1/4 in hex
    • Batteries:Two 2.0Ah lithium-ion batteries
    • Included components:Charger, storage bag, belt hook
    Our verdict
    “Choose the CRAFTSMAN if you want a well-equipped kit with three speed settings and two batteries, rather than the highest torque figure.”
cordless brushless impact drivers
What makes a great cordless brushless impact driver
1
Choose a Battery Platform Before Chasing a Kit
Battery compatibility can shape the long-term cost and convenience of a cordless tool more than a small difference in driver featu
2
Match Speed Control to the Work
Fast driving is useful, but it can also strip screw heads, damage softer materials, or sink fasteners too far.
3
Treat Torque Claims as One Part of the Picture
A stated torque figure can help compare products, but it does not tell you how well a driver handles every fastener or material.
4
Decide Whether a Combo Kit Earns Its Extra Bulk
A drill-and-driver combo is useful when you need one tool for making holes and another for driving fasteners, especially on projec
How to choose your cordless brushless impact driver
1
How we picked
I compared these 15 products as cordless brushless impact drivers , focusing on the choices that change daily use: speed
2
Choose a Battery Platform Before Chasing a Kit
Battery compatibility can shape the long-term cost and convenience of a cordless tool more than a small difference in dr
3
Match Speed Control to the Work
Fast driving is useful, but it can also strip screw heads, damage softer materials, or sink fasteners too far.
4
Treat Torque Claims as One Part of the Picture
A stated torque figure can help compare products, but it does not tell you how well a driver handles every fastener or m
5
Decide Whether a Combo Kit Earns Its Extra Bulk
A drill-and-driver combo is useful when you need one tool for making holes and another for driving fasteners, especially
Vetted cordless brushless impact drivers ·
The best cordless brushless impact drivers, compared
★ Winner GoYwato 21V Brushless Cordless
Best Brushless Starter Combo
15compared
24 Vtop voltage
2motors

How We Picked

I compared these 15 products as cordless brushless impact drivers, focusing on the choices that change daily use: speed and control features, compactness, stated power, included batteries and charger, and whether a kit adds a drill or useful charging flexibility. I also considered platform compatibility and how much sense a tool-only model makes for someone who already owns batteries. Kit contents matter, but a larger bundle does not automatically make a better driver; I weighed convenience against the value of the tool itself.

The ranking puts versatile, clearly specified options ahead of kits whose main appeal is a broad bundle, while recognizing that the latter can suit buyers starting from scratch. The DEWALT DCF845B ranks first for its three-speed control; platform-specific tool-only options follow when existing batteries make them practical. Combo kits and entry-level sets earn places for convenience, but their position reflects tradeoffs such as less detailed control information, platform commitment, or a less focused driver-first package. I do not treat stated torque figures alone as a complete measure of performance.

Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Brushless Impact Drivers

Before choosing among these cordless brushless impact drivers, decide how the tool will fit into your work and the battery system you plan to keep using. The best choice for occasional furniture assembly may not be the best fit for repeated fastening or a growing tool collection.

Choose a Battery Platform Before Chasing a Kit

Battery compatibility can shape the long-term cost and convenience of a cordless tool more than a small difference in driver features. If you already own batteries and a charger from DEWALT, Makita, or CRAFTSMAN, a tool-only driver may be a sensible addition rather than a missing-parts problem. Starting fresh makes a complete kit appealing, but check how many batteries are included and whether they work across tools you may buy later. Avoid assuming that batteries from different brands—or even different voltage families—can be shared. A less expensive bundle can lose its appeal if replacement batteries are hard to source or the platform does not suit your next tool purchase.

Match Speed Control to the Work

Fast driving is useful, but it can also strip screw heads, damage softer materials, or sink fasteners too far. Multiple speed settings give more room to manage delicate work before moving to harder fastening, which is one reason the DEWALT DCF845B stands apart in this group. For occasional heavy fastening, a simpler trigger may be enough if you can control pressure and choose the right bit. Think about the materials you handle most often rather than selecting by a torque figure alone. If you regularly switch between cabinet hardware, decking, and larger fasteners, adjustable control can save time and prevent mistakes.

Treat Torque Claims as One Part of the Picture

A stated torque figure can help compare products, but it does not tell you how well a driver handles every fastener or material. Manufacturers may present specifications in different ways, and the tool’s control, bit fit, battery condition, and fastener type all affect results. A high listed figure, such as the AVID POWER kit’s 2,220 in-lb claim, should not replace checking speed settings and the intended workload. For routine household assembly, control and a comfortable grip may matter more than maximum output. For repeated structural fastening, compare the full specification set and choose suitable bits and fasteners rather than relying on one headline number.

Decide Whether a Combo Kit Earns Its Extra Bulk

A drill-and-driver combo is useful when you need one tool for making holes and another for driving fasteners, especially on projects that move between those tasks. It can also reduce the need to swap bits repeatedly. The tradeoff is that a combo kit may cost more in storage space and leave you with a drill you rarely use. If your work is mostly driving screws or bolts, a driver-focused kit can be the more direct choice. Compare the number and capacity of included batteries as well: two batteries can help keep a project moving, but their usefulness depends on workload and charging time.

Balance Compactness Against Runtime and Handling

A shorter, lighter driver can be easier to use in cabinets, overhead, or cramped corners, where a larger tool may make positioning awkward. Compactness is less of a priority when the tool will mostly be used at a bench or in open framing. Battery size also affects how the tool feels: a larger pack may add runtime while making the handle feel heavier. Do not judge comfort from the tool body alone; consider the battery and how long you expect to hold it. If you work in tight spaces often, a compact model can be more useful than a larger driver with features you rarely use.

Check Kit Contents and Charging Before Buying

Product names that say “kit” do not all promise the same setup, so verify whether the package includes a battery, charger, case, and accessories you actually need. A tool-only listing can be a good fit for an established platform but an incomplete choice for a first cordless tool. Charging details deserve attention too: the Greenworks combo’s USB-C batteries and 65W charger offer a different kind of flexibility from conventional charger setups. Confirm that the charger suits the battery and your available outlets, and check whether a second battery is included for longer sessions. Buying only what you need can prevent paying for duplicate chargers or accessories that will sit unused.

Frequently Asked Questions

Should I buy a tool-only impact driver if I do not own that brand’s batteries?

Usually, a tool-only model is most practical when you already own compatible batteries and a charger. If you are starting from scratch, add the cost and availability of those items to your decision rather than comparing the bare tool with a complete kit. A bundle may be more convenient if it includes the battery capacity and charger you need. Check compatibility carefully, since battery platforms are not interchangeable across brands. Choose tool-only when platform ownership makes it a straightforward addition, not because the listing appears simpler.

Is a drill-and-impact-driver combo better than buying an impact driver alone?

A combo is a good match if your projects involve both drilling holes and driving fasteners. The drill handles holes and tasks that need a conventional chuck, while the impact driver is designed around fastening. If you already have a reliable drill or rarely make holes, a combo may add cost and storage bulk without much benefit. For a first power-tool purchase, the extra tool can make the bundle more versatile. Base the choice on the tasks you expect to do, not the number of tools in the package.

Does a higher stated torque figure mean an impact driver is the better choice?

Not by itself. A torque claim is only one specification, and it does not describe how easily you can control the tool or how well it suits small fasteners and soft materials. The AVID POWER listing gives a specific torque figure, while other models stand out through features such as multiple speed settings or platform fit. Consider the type and size of fasteners you use, along with control and battery availability. For varied work, a well-matched driver with useful speed adjustment can be a better fit than choosing by the largest number alone.

When are multiple speed settings worth choosing over a simpler driver?

Multiple settings are useful if you regularly switch between delicate work and larger fasteners. A slower setting can help reduce stripped heads and overdriving, while a faster setting can make repetitive fastening less tedious. If your work is mostly the same kind of fastening and you can manage speed with the trigger, a simpler driver may be sufficient. The DEWALT DCF845B is the standout here for three-speed control, though it is tool only. Weigh that added flexibility against whether you already have its battery platform.

What should I prioritize for overhead work or tight spaces?

Look at the complete tool-and-battery setup, not just the driver’s body. A compact design can make it easier to reach into a cabinet or work above shoulder height, while a large battery may add weight and affect balance. You may also benefit from a second battery if overhead work involves long sessions and frequent use. For cramped spaces, tool length and grip are often more useful than a large accessory bundle. If possible, compare the tool’s dimensions and included battery before choosing.

Conclusion

My best overall pick is the DEWALT 20V MAX XR DCF845B for buyers who want three speed settings and already use DEWALT 20V batteries. For best value in a starter setup, compare the complete GoYwato or SundpeyPRO driver kits by their included battery, charger, and accessories rather than by bundle size alone. The best premium platform choice is the Makita XDT13Z for existing 18V LXT owners who want a driver-only addition; it is less compelling as a first cordless tool. Beginners who need both drilling and fastening should look at a combo such as the DEWALT DCK240C2 or CRAFTSMAN V20 combo, while the Greenworks 24V combo suits buyers who want USB-C charging. For compact work, consider the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP Compact kit. Match the battery system and tool format to your actual projects, and the right choice becomes much clearer.

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

15 Best Cookware Sets in 2026

Discover the best cookware sets of 2026, including top picks for durability, versatility, and value. Find the perfect set for your kitchen today.

15 Best Garden Watering Tools in 2026

Discover the best garden watering tools of 2026. From versatile wands to deep-root watering systems, find the perfect tools for your garden needs.

8 Best Hot Water Pressure Washers for Equipment Shops in 2026

Discover the top hot water pressure washers for equipment shops in 2026. Find the best overall, value options, and premium picks for heavy-duty cleaning needs.

3 Best Drift Cutters for Two Stage Snow Blowers in 2026

Discover the top drift cutters for two stage snow blowers in 2026. Find effective options for heavy snowfall, with tradeoffs explained for each choice.